www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Hide divs with empty spans?

Hybrid View

Question Hide divs with empty spans?

Is there a simple javascript snippet that can achieve this effect?

I have the following code that is being dynamically generated by joomla:

HTML Code:
    <div class="cbUserListFieldLine"><span class="cbUserListFieldTitle cbUserListFT_cb_extdesc">Specialty:</span> <span class="cbListFieldCont cbUserListFC_cb_extdesc"> </span></div>
    Is there a snippet of javascript that could specify to make the div with class "cbUserListFieldLine" invisible if the span with class "cbUserListFC_cb_extdesc" is empty?

Sorry, I'm still very new to hand coding javascript and don't even know where to start with making it do what I want it to. Even a general direction would be helpful.

Thanks!

Firstly, can need to give your elements an "ID", so we can get a reference to them.
    So, lets give the span an ID of "mySpan" and the Div and ID of "myDiv", as follows:

Code:
    <div id="myDiv" class="cbUserListFieldLine"><span class="cbUserListFieldTitle cbUserListFT_cb_extdesc">Specialty:</span> <span id="mySpan" class="cbListFieldCont cbUserListFC_cb_extdesc"> </span></div>
    Then, we can do what you want easily with the following code:

Code:
    if (document.getElementById("mySpan").innerHTML == "")
    {
        doucment.getElementById("myDiv").style.display = "none";
    }
    Does that help?

Code:
    window.onload=function(){
        var spans= document.getElementsByTagName('span');
        var i= 0, L= spans.length, tem, pa;
        while(i<L){
            tem= spans[i++];
            if(tem.className.indexOf('cbUserListFC_cb_extdesc')!= -1 && !tem.textContent && !tem.innerText){
                tem.parentNode.style.display== 'none';
            }
        }
    }

Thank you both but I'm still not having any luck...

ilawton: I cannot hack the dynamically created code so adding ids is not an option for me...sorry. :/