dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: I'm having problems getting my site live, not sure what's up?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    4

    I'm having problems getting my site live, not sure what's up?

    So I'm obviously new to this all but I'm eager to learn.
    I bought a domain name and hosting from 1&1. I've done some research and I'm using FileZilla to try and upload some basic files to the host. What's the process of actually getting these files live? I've got my index.html in the directory, how do you actually go about getting the browser to display that index.html file?
    Any information is welcome.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,445
    Look up domain name propagation. Depending on when you bought your domain name this may be the reason. Your host should have given you a "temporary address" to use while getting things up and running.
    In dog beers I've only had one.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin2 View Post
    Look up domain name propagation. Depending on when you bought your domain name this may be the reason. Your host should have given you a "temporary address" to use while getting things up and running.
    According the to Global DNS Propagation Checker everything is up and running.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,445
    Are you sure you uploaded your files to the correct folder? Should be something like htdocs or public_html or similar.
    In dog beers I've only had one.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    4
    There was no directory to upload it to..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,445
    Are the nameservers set up correctly? In other words, does your domain name point to your host?

    More possible help:
    https://help.1and1.com/
    In dog beers I've only had one.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    4
    Awesome, thanks for your help. It's all sorted out.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    206
    Recheck if you have place your files in the proper directory. If you use your main domain, the files should be in your root directory otherwise if you use a subdomain, the files should be in their right subdirectory. After checking the files, you can proceed to pointing the nameservers of your domain to 1and1. Login to your domain registrar and chance the dns settings to:
    DNS1: ns-us.1and1-dns.com
    DNS2: ns-us.1and1-dns.us
    DNS3: ns-us.1and1-dns.de
    DNS4: ns-us.1and1-dns.org

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Jakarta
    Posts
    2
    Awesome, I just recently got the same problem... And this is really helpful, Thanks....


    **Links removed by Site Administrator so it doesn't look like you're spamming us. Please don't post them again.**

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles