dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: HELP! Website does not work in Internet Explorer!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    Posts
    21

    HELP! Website does not work in Internet Explorer!

    The website I built for an association we work with looks fine in Safari and Firefox but it only loads my banner and one sidebar and nothing else. How can I fix this and are there any tools I can use to help me identify the problem?

    The site isn't live yet for this reason so the url is www.miccs.squarespace.com

    Any help is much appreciated!

    Thank you!
    Daniel

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Frankfort, KY, USA
    Posts
    6,167

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    Posts
    21

    Main Error

    The main error I am finding is that I have No Character encoding declared at document level. This is all way over my head but is there a chance this will be corrected when I move this site to it's server. We use another company for that so will they be able to help me or is it still something I will have to add my self?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Frankfort, KY, USA
    Posts
    6,167

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    Posts
    21

    Squarespace

    I used squarespace to build this site because I know very little on HTML. My site worked in IE last week and now it doesn't. I did add a lot of things (PDF's, videos, images) but where do I start in my site to fix this?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    786
    one really obvious problem is that there are two HEAD sections and two BODY sections.... that means that there are really TWO PAGES in the document.

    Review your code via the validator as suggested and you will see the problems... this may have been generated in part by the server's design program, but you can straighten it out.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    Posts
    21
    Yes thank you. I figured it out a few hours ago and now everything works in IE. I just deleted what I created and made it again and it worked. Something was messed up before and it's all good now. I still want to try to get the website sponsor logos to randomly change every 3 seconds instead of following the code. Is there a way to do that? The code is posted below:

    <html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">

    <script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">

    img2 = new Image()


    seconds = "3";

    function imgOne()
    {
    setTimeout("imgTwo()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgTwo()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/Delta2copy.gif';
    setTimeout("imgThree()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgThree()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/AceAir2.1.gif';
    setTimeout("imgFour()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgFour()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/Wilhelm2.gif';
    setTimeout("imgFive ()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgFive()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/Santarossa2.gif';
    setTimeout("imgSix()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgSix()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/Trinity2.gif';
    setTimeout("imgSeven ()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgSeven()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/Ryan2.gif';
    setTimeout("imgEight()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgEight()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/RMS2.gif';
    setTimeout("imgNine ()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgNine()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/Premier2.gif';
    setTimeout("imgTen()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgTen()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/Pepper2.gif';
    setTimeout("imgEleven ()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgEleven()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/PCG2.gif';
    setTimeout("imgTwelve()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgTwelve()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/Milestone2.gif';
    setTimeout("imgThirteen ()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgThirteen()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/Laceindy2.gif';
    setTimeout("imgFourteen()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgFourteen()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/Frakes2.gif';
    setTimeout("imgFifteen ()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgFifteen()
    {
    document.myimg.src = 'http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/logo_ermco.gif';
    setTimeout("imgSixteen()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    function imgSixteen()
    {
    document.myimg.src = ' http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/MJS.gif';
    setTimeout("imgOne()", seconds * 1000);
    }
    </script>

    </head>

    <body onload="imgOne();">
    <img src="http://miccs.squarespace.com/storage/logo_ermco.gif" name="myimg">

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    786
    there are several ways to pull the images randomly... php or straight js... does your server support php?? and .htaccess??

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    Posts
    21

    Java Script

    I cannot do PHP but I can run JS. I can embed client side scripts that utilize Javascript within my pages and posts. Does that help?

    Thanks!
    Daniel

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles