www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Dreamweaver to MySQL using PERL script

Dreamweaver to MySQL using PERL script

Hi, I am a newbie in Dreamweaver and MySQL stuff, perl etc.

I use Dreamweaver CS3. I have recently created a web form, the typical "contat us" form and I was able to set it up through a CGI script, with hidden buttons that runs the script which was provided by the server. This script sends the contact information to to a specific email in the body of the email. Currently that works, but...

Instead of doing that, I want that information to be transmitted to a MySQL database and table that I also have created using PHPmyAdmin.

1st QUESTION: How do I transfer the data to the MySQL table using CGI Perl?

2nd QUESTION: the other problem I have is that I am not even sure if the script below is Perl code, and if Dreamweaver supports Perl.

3rd QUESTION: if it is supported by Dreamweaver, would I just copy/paste the script into the code mode?

I can understand what I am supposed to do by cutting/pasting and replacing, but I am not even sure if its something I should be trying and if its compatible, so I dont want to waste time. PLEASE HELP!!!

SCRIPT PROVIDED BY SERVER and DESCRIPTION:

"The script below uses CGI to grab input from a fill-in form; connect to a MySQL Database; and write the fill-in form input to an existing MySQL table. The values that must be changed to reflect your database are marked in red."

#!/usr/bin/perl

use DBI;

use CGI ':standard';

## grab input from fill-in form:

my ($id,$username,$email,$address);

## store the input from fill-in form into varibles:

$id = param('id');

$username = param('username');

$email = param('email');

$address = param('address');

## connect to mySQL database:

$DSN = "DBI:mysql:database_name:localhost";

my $dbh = DBI->connect($DSN, "database_name", "password") || die "Can't Connect";

## insert fill-in form input into database:

my $sel = $dbh->prepare("INSERT INTO table_name VALUES(NULL,?,?,?)");