www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: favicon works in Chrome, not IE7

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    71

    Arrow favicon works in Chrome, not IE7

    Hello-
    I'm having a problem getting my favicon to work in IE7. All I needed to do to get it to work in Chrome was change the name of the file to favicon.ico and put it in the root folder and BAM! it worked. Not so for IE7. Any suggestions? I've read a lot of other threads and taken their advice with putting the code into the <head>, but none of those ideas worked. Is it the file? I created it in PS CS3. There was no option to save it as .ico so i just manually changed the name.

    Here is the site:

    http://www.flagsexpress.com

    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NW Washington State
    Posts
    1,856
    Don't see the link in your<head>, or did I miss it? You'll need something like this:
    <link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://www.citradingcards.com/favicon.ico">
    Best wishes,
    EfV

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts
    15,428
    You should also remove/clean all the GoLive editor's tags/comments (<csactions>, etc...), as browsers might not understand them. Even they might be harmless, editor's tags/comments might dupe certain browsers.

    Note: your site looks not so good in Firefox.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    71
    Thanks for the advice. And it's wierd you say it looks not so good in FireFox, I was just looking at it from my mac at home with FireFox and it looked fine to me?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts
    15,428
    Quote Originally Posted by NikkiD View Post
    Thanks for the advice. And it's wierd you say it looks not so good in FireFox, I was just looking at it from my mac at home with FireFox and it looked fine to me?
    See the attachment print screen (FireFox 3 / XP SP3) The top horizontal menu (or better say the text above the menu) is dizzy.

    Furthermore, in Opera (Opera 9 / XP SP3) the rollover effect on menu is lost and the Opera's Error Console shows some HTML/CSS errors.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Kor; 10-06-2009 at 10:36 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NW Washington State
    Posts
    1,856
    I took another look at the icon in IE:
    http://www.flagsexpress.com/favicon.ico
    nothing shows.... while in FF:
    http://www.flagsexpress.com/favicon.ico
    an image shows but it's identified as a jpeg 16X16 pixels. So another issue may be that the image is not really an .ico file, hence IE does not display.
    Plugins are available for PhotoShop to convert images into true .ico

    http://graphic-design-tutorials.suit..._photoshop_cs3

    You'll need to download the plugin and copy it into your Photoshop Plugin folder. In PhotoShop open the "Help" menu, then "System Info" for the location of the Plugin folder.
    Best of luck to ya!
    EfV

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    71
    Thank you! I tried using those plugins yesterday and they aren't working. I get an error that says 'Could not complete your request becuse it is not the right kind of document'.
    Maybe I'm not using the plugin correctly? I copied it into the PS plugin folder. How do I activate it?

    I've also gotten advice from a friend telling me to just use a free third party to make my .ico file.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NW Washington State
    Posts
    1,856
    Once the plugin file is copied to the Plugin folder, make sure you unzip if it was downloaded as a zip file. After creating your image in PhotoShop, you should be able to "Save As", then of the format (scroll down the file types) ICO type.
    I don't understand when, or how you got the error message.... is that in PhotoShop?
    And yes you could use a third party, but wouldn't you rather learn to do it yourself?
    EfV

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    71
    Ah ha!!!!! Okay, I have successfully made my .ico file. Very cool. It's still not working in IE7. I put the code in the <head> of my index page. Not sure if thats where it should go. But if so, it's not working.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NW Washington State
    Posts
    1,856
    Try closing the <link> tag like this:
    <link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://www.flagsexpress.com/favicon.ico" />
    sorry, missed that the first time.
    EfV

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    71
    Still not working. Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    389
    Sometimes you have to close/reopen your browser after you have saved it as a favorite for it to work in some browsers...or at least that's what I've fooled myself into believing.

    I do mine a little different, but it works for me.

    Code:
    <link href="favicon.ico" type="image/gif" rel="icon">

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NW Washington State
    Posts
    1,856
    Well I'm kinda stumped on this one.
    But here are a few more tips.
    First, sometimes testing the favicon from the local machine does not work in IE so upload to server and test.
    Second, be sure to completely clear your Temp Internet Files folder, between tests or you may have a leftover, none working version.
    To test yur icon I created a simple html page here:
    http://www.cidigitalmedia.com/tutorials/icon_test.html
    View the source code and you'll see two favicons listed, currently yours is commented out. Test the code, but be sure to clear your cache before every test.
    The CI icon appears. But when I comment out the CI code and uncomment your icon, no luck.....
    However, by downloading your favicon directly at:
    http://www.flagsexpress.com/favicon.ico
    This now puts a copy of the ico in the Temp Internet Files folder. Then the browser backarrow to the test page and with your icon now in the Temp files folder, it displays correctly on the page.
    The how and why it is such a problem.... beats the heck out of me...!!! There must be more rules on how IE handles the favicon that I can't figure out...
    Good luck anyway!
    EfV

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles