www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How do I put slices together?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    478

    How do I put slices together?

    *JUST* today I discovered that I can create slices in Photoshop!
    Why didn't anyone else tell me it was that easy!

    Question: Is there an easy way to put the slices on your HTML?

    Can I do this from Photoshop or something?
    Or use Dreamweaver?
    Or do you have to get coding by hand?

    If I used tables only - does that make a difference?

    Thanks


    OM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    1,374
    Slices are typically held together on a web page by placing each slice inside a table cell.

    I'll be surprised if PhotoShop does not have "Save as HTML" option to export the slices already inside a table.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Washington (State)
    Posts
    58
    People still use those ?!??!?!?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    786
    People still use "image slices????!!!!????

    I cannot think of any good reason to slice up an image to be used on a web page... but what would I know.
    ...but stupidity is terminal.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    24
    This option is in "Save for web" > Save > Save as type > html and images.

    To set up the html response you need to click the arrow button neer the preset title.
    My web site...
    בניית אתרים
    אחסון אתרים
    English version will be added soon.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    24
    I think you misunderstand.
    This option is used for slicing a template, not a single image.


    Quote Originally Posted by opifex View Post
    People still use "image slices????!!!!????

    I cannot think of any good reason to slice up an image to be used on a web page... but what would I know.
    My web site...
    בניית אתרים
    אחסון אתרים
    English version will be added soon.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    786
    Quote Originally Posted by verikal View Post
    I think you misunderstand.
    This option is used for slicing a template, not a single image.
    The point is that I do understand why people do this. There is absolutely no need to use "templates" such as are produced with programs such as Photoshop.
    Sorry...but that is not web development or web design.
    Time might be better spent learning how to properly code (x)html and css to achieve your goals.
    ...but stupidity is terminal.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    478
    opifex: u r 100% right in many ways
    but trust me, some parts of the world have not moved on and i am forced to develop using tables for the end purpose

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles