www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: dropdown menu over flash

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,898

    dropdown menu over flash

    Can someone help me with the below site's tab navigation? the dropdown's go behind the video. How can I fix this?

    http://www.vickiesangelwalk.org/joom...d=31&Itemid=16

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    8
    Hmm...Try setting the z-index of the drop-down menu's tabs. Something like
    Code:
    #yourtab{
    z-index:1;
    }
    If that doesn't work, set it higher than 1. Hopefully that works...@w@

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,898
    I tried this on the Photos & Media tab, the li has an id of tabPhotosMedia, so I gave that a z-index of 100, but that didn't help anything.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NW Washington State
    Posts
    1,856
    z-indexing only works for elements with a declared position, so did you first declare a position? Something like:
    Code:
    position:relative;
    z-index:300;
    It displays fine in IE but not in FF currently.
    Best wishes,
    EfV

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,898
    I tried position: absolute, but that did not help anything.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,898
    Can anyone help me with this?

    Thanks!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,898
    anyone, please???

    Thanks!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    72
    add wmode="transparent" to the object properties

    like this:

    Code:
    <object wmode="transparent">
    </object>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    72
    UHmm or maybe that was one of the params, if it doesnt work try

    Code:
    <object>
    <param name="wmode" value="transparent">
    </object>

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,898
    I already have that. Here is the object code:

    Code:
    <object title="JoomlaWorks AllVideos Player" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/QslcyeZ0Yrs&hl=en&fs=1" style="width: 400px; height: 300px;" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"><param value="http://www.youtube.com/v/QslcyeZ0Yrs&hl=en&fs=1" name="movie"/>
    
    <param value="high" name="quality"/>
    
    <param value="transparent" name="wmode"/>
    
    <param value="#010101" name="bgcolor"/>
    
    
    </object>
    Can someone take a look at my css and tell me exactly where to put the z-index? Maybe I'm putting it in the wrong spot.

    Thanks.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NW Washington State
    Posts
    1,856
    Yes I see your window mode is correct, but that's not the problem since it's
    Code:
    <SPAN class=avPlayerSubContainer>
    that is cutting off the menu. Look closely what the menu is under, it's not the video but the container in which the player is placed, the big black rectangle. That rectangle, it's parent is
    Code:
    <SPAN class=avPlayerContainer>
    with a
    Code:
    z-index 999
    that may result in an inheritance problem. So you'll need to use first a declared poistion and then an appropriate z-index to get the black rectangle below the menu.
    Best wishes,
    EfV

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles