www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Web server: solaris/ubuntu/windows

Hybrid View

Web server: solaris/ubuntu/windows

Hey!
    I'm trying to set up my own web server and I'm wondering what and why would make the best server that fits my needs.

My first choice was the ubuntu server edition but I'm really not that fond of not having a GUI and as a Linux noob it's kinda hard.

Since I'm a student I can get the Windows Server 2008 R2 for free and I've never set up a server before so I figured this would be the most user friendly version but I'm not afraid of taking some time and learn my other options.

And I just recently begun thinking about the OpenSolaris web server since I want it to be MySQL based and all, why not go with the maker of MySQL?

What I want from the server is to be able to host websites, stream videos and download via ftp. I want also to be able to host community-like websites.

So what are your opinions/suggestions?

Just about any desktop OS can act as a webserver--even non-server Windows distros. You don't really even need the "server" version of Ubuntu to get a web server up and running. You can opt for the "desktop" version and just enable the services you need via a nice graphical interface (possibly requiring a download here and there).

So ... just try some things? I would recommend an *nix system. You can start your setup in the GUI and learn the command line as you go ...
    Jon Wire

thepointless.com | rounded corner generator

I agree with Apple. Flash is just terrible.

Use CODE tags!