www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Scrolling drop down menu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    71

    Arrow Scrolling drop down menu

    Hello. Here is an example of what I am trying to recreate:
    http://www.flagsexpress.com/world/world.htm
    The two menus that allow you to scroll through the list of countries.
    I know this has to be soooooooooooooo easy but I am having difficulties figuring out the best route in Dreamweaver CS4 to create this scrolling list. I started using SPRY menu bar, but I don't know how to make the list scrollable, as there are so many menu items, they won't fit on the screen once the menu drops down.

    Please let me know if this is even the best option or if there is a better way of making these drop down lists.

    I appreciate your help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Springfield, MO
    Posts
    1,541
    Maybe I'm misunderstanding what you're trying to do. If you're just trying to make two drop down lists that scroll as you add content, a regular drop down list will do it, no need for the spry crap.

    e.g.

    Code:
    <select name="mylist">
    <option value=""></option>
    <option value="list1">List 1</option>
    <option value="list2">List 2</option>
    <option value="list3">List 3</option>
    </select>

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    71

    Arrow

    Thank you so much,

    I will try this, but do you know how to turn the list items into links?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    71
    I want to be sure that when you select one of the list items, it will take you to that page, without having to ad a "Go" button.

    Is this possible?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Springfield, MO
    Posts
    1,541
    Yes, I think it's called "jump menus" in Dreamweaver.

    After a quick Google, sure enough:

    http://www.entheosweb.com/website_design/jump_menus.asp

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    71
    Thank you so much.
    You are very helpful!

    Nikki

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    71
    Once I turn that menu into a library item, it loses its ability to link to other pages. I've tested in is IE7 and for some reason when I click on a menu item in the drop list, it just stays on the same page. Do you know why that would be? This has been my issue for all the other ways I have tried to make a drop menu into a library item.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Springfield, MO
    Posts
    1,541
    I replied in your "Jump menu" thread.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles