www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: GIMP vs Photshop Elements

Question GIMP vs Photshop Elements

As a complete beginner I try do do some graphics work in photo Elements to practice web development. I noticed you cant slice in Elements wich is something I wanted to try to construct a webpage.
    Then I found GIMP but am I just as well off with Elements?
    Is slicing a great way to make a web page? Thank you!

Photoshop is better (probably the best), but expensive, GIMP is less performant, but freeware.
    Quote Originally Posted by airbayforce
    Is slicing a great way to make a web page? Thank you!
    Probably not. It is safer (and professional) to cut/saveAs "manually" the graphical elements, not to use the "slicing" tool.
    Last edited by Kor; 01-13-2010 at 08:38 AM.

Is disagree that Photoshop slicing isn't good.

I use it all the time and it works great. Its a huge time saver. Photoshop will also create an HTML document along with the images. You can just copy the table it created into your main documnet and modify as needed.

If you decide to crop and manually slice that will work too. If you have an elaborate slicing scheme this can become tedious.

One thing to advise is to make all image corrections before slicing. For example, if you decide to do something as simple as sharpening one of the already sliced images, it can leave unnaturally edges between the slices.

About you GIMP vs. Photoshop question............

Photoshop for sure is superior. Being a professional photography, that is what I use almost exclusively.

I have used both GIMP and Photoshop Elements to a great extend as well. Given the choice between the 2, I would take GIMP hands down over Elements. Elements leaves out key things such as curves (one of the most essential of all things). Being open source, the GIMP programmers strive to give you everything they possibly can so they don't intentionally leave out basic functions in an attempt to make you buy something more expensive.