www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best schools for web development?

Hybrid View

Best schools for web development?

Hi,
    I'm considering a new career in web development; that is, I want to program web-based applications. I have a little professional background in web stuff like HTML, CSS and the like, and I have a bachelor's degree in an unrelated field under my belt. I'm thinking about going to grad school for web development. However, I don't know where to start. It doesn't seem like many universities have a degree called "web development" or "web programming," and I'd like to go somewhere top-notch. What are the best U.S. schools for web development?

You may feel that it's not worth it to go to school for programming, and I can respect that. But I think I may need the structure that a university provides, so if you can suggest some schools I'd appreciate it. Location is not an issue as long as the school is US-based. Thanks very much for this or any other info you can provide.

Sincerely,
    (Wannabe) Webber

I really enjoyed the CIS program at Devry. You can even take the classes online if you wish (though they are crammed into faster courses that way). One of the options for your focus track is web development. The basics required for the CIS course can prepare you pretty well for a number of systems/applications situations and give you the tools you can use to continue learning the specifics. The courses they use at Devry focus mainly on the conceptual rather than the specific so that you can apply the knowledge to new technologies (whether new to you or just new in general) as you come across them.

Aside from that plug I would say the best school for you is the one where you feel comfortable learning the material you feel you should know and where you learn how to find out the things you don't know right away as needed.

Quote Originally Posted by criterion9 View Post