www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: noob needs help with jquery & mootools in joomla

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2

    noob needs help with jquery & mootools in joomla

    Hi all,

    I am a tester in configuration manager by profession so I know a bit about code, but I am not a developer. I can write batch and shell scripts and I am good with markup languages, but I know very little about javascript. I guess I know just enough to be dangerous. But I am trying to learn and all help will be greatly appreciated.

    I have searched for an answer to this on the forum, but couldn't find anything I could understand.

    I am trying to integrate a jquery script called livetwitter into a Joomla template called Iridium by RocketTheme. The Joomla template uses mootools which I understand is a different framework.

    I have read that there are several hacks and plugins you can use with joomla to allow jquery to run. However, I dont understand what I must change to the call in the html to the jquery script. This is how the call from the developers site looks:

    Code:
    <div id="twitterUserTimeline" class="tweets"></div>
    	<script type="text/javascript">
    
    		// Basic usage
    		$('#twitterSearch').liveTwitter('bacon', {limit: 5, rate: 5000});
    		$('#twitterUserTimeline').liveTwitter('elektronaut', {limit: 5, refresh: false, mode: 'user_timeline'});
    
    		// Changing the query
    		$('#searchLinks a').each(function(){
    			var query = $(this).text();
    			$(this).click(function(){
    				// Update the search
    				$('#twitterSearch').liveTwitter(query);
    				// Update the header
    				$('#searchTerm').text(query);
    				return false;
    			});
    		});
    
    	</script>
    (I hope that is all indented correctly)

    Now I *think* with my dangerously small amount of knowledge that the problem is something to do with that "$" and the wrong javascript library being loaded... and that I need to specify a call to the jquery library.

    The livetwitter script lives in the /js folder and is called jquery.livetwitter.js

    I have emailed the author of the livetwitter scipt for advice, and been through the comments and docs for every jquery joomla plugin. None of them explain how I must change the above commands.

    I hope that explains the situation and problem I am having. All help greatly appreciated.

    Many thanks in advance.
    John

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    174
    i think your right about the wrong library beeing loaded, check

    http://docs.jquery.com/Using_jQuery_...ther_Libraries

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2
    Hi Gozzy, thanks for replying.

    So I would amend the markup code to...

    <code>
    <!-- Begin twittersearch -->
    <div id="twitterSearch"></div>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    <script src="/js/jquery.livetwitter.min.js"></script>
    <script src="/js/jquery.livetwitter.js"></script>
    jQuery.noConflict(); <!-- suggested hack to force the following to use jquery -->
    $('#twitterSearch').liveTwitter('bacon', {limit: 5, rate: 5000});
    $('#twitterUserTimeline').liveTwitter('elektronaut', {limit: 5, refresh:
    </script>
    <!-- End twittersearch -->
    </code>

    ....... ???

    I have done that, and there is no noticeable change to the page.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1
    Hi sugarman,

    I'm not sure about joomla, but I had similar problems using JQuery in DotNetNuke.

    Step 2: Initialize jQuery
    DNN has name conflict issues with jQuery so the following line is needed (thanks to Steve Johnson at Abstract Coder for this tidbit):

    var $j = jQuery.noConflict();
    I included this in my utilities.js file outside of any functions.

    Step 3: Call jQuery Functions
    It is important to note that all of your calls to jQuery functions will use this $j variable instead of the normal, single $ you will find documented just about everywhere. So for example, the document ready function will look like this:

    $j(document).ready(function() {
    //your code here
    });
    Now you can write your normal javascript code and call jQuery functions throughout. Just remember to use the $j variable.
    http://randallhook.com/2009/09/16/ad...etnuke-module/

    This might help.
    Ruairi

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    117
    I'm also a tester, not a developer, but I know enough to know that if this is typical of the way they use jQuery:
    Code:
    		// Changing the query
    		$('#searchLinks a').each(function(){
    			var query = $(this).text();
    			$(this).click(function(){
    				// Update the search
    				$('#twitterSearch').liveTwitter(query);
    				// Update the header
    				$('#searchTerm').text(query);
    				return false;
    			});
    		});
    You probably want to avoid the rest of their code like the plague.
    Here begynith a techynge of the newe Scrypte with many other helpy thynges, etc

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center

"

"

X vBulletin 4.2.2 Debug Information

  • Page Generation 0.09136 seconds
  • Memory Usage 3,029KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage (31):
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_global_above_footer
  • (1)ad_global_below_navbar
  • (1)ad_global_header1
  • (1)ad_global_header2
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)headinclude_bottom
  • (5)memberaction_dropdown
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (1)navbar_moderation
  • (1)navbar_noticebit
  • (1)navbar_tabs
  • (2)option
  • (5)postbit
  • (5)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (5)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)showthread_list
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available (6):
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files (27):
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/class_bootstrap.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_navigation.php
  • ./includes/class_friendly_url.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/class_bootstrap_framework.php
  • ./vb/vb.php
  • ./vb/phrase.php
  • ./includes/functions_facebook.php
  • ./includes/functions_calendar.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_notice.php
  • ./includes/functions_threadedmode.php
  • ./packages/vbattach/attach.php
  • ./vb/types.php
  • ./vb/cache.php
  • ./vb/cache/db.php
  • ./vb/cache/observer/db.php
  • ./vb/cache/observer.php 

Hooks Called (72):
  • init_startup
  • friendlyurl_resolve_class
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • database_pre_fetch_array
  • database_post_fetch_array
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • global_bootstrap_init_start
  • global_bootstrap_init_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • load_show_variables
  • load_forum_show_variables
  • global_state_check
  • global_bootstrap_complete
  • global_start
  • style_fetch
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • strip_bbcode
  • friendlyurl_clean_fragment
  • friendlyurl_geturl
  • forumjump
  • cache_templates
  • cache_templates_process
  • template_register_var
  • template_render_output
  • fetch_template_start
  • fetch_template_complete
  • parse_templates
  • fetch_musername
  • notices_check_start
  • notices_noticebit
  • process_templates_complete
  • friendlyurl_redirect_canonical
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids_threaded
  • showthread_threaded_construct_link
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • memberaction_dropdown
  • tag_fetchbit
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • build_navigation_data
  • build_navigation_array
  • check_navigation_permission
  • process_navigation_links_start
  • process_navigation_links_complete
  • set_navigation_menu_element
  • build_navigation_menudata
  • build_navigation_listdata
  • build_navigation_list
  • set_navigation_tab_main
  • set_navigation_tab_fallback
  • navigation_tab_complete
  • fb_like_button
  • showthread_complete
  • page_templates