www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Run javascript from url put in web browser bar?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3

    Run javascript from url put in web browser bar?

    Hi
    I am looking for a way to call a javascript from the url bar in the browser.
    I have looked around on google a while but only found ways to make "ahref" run javascript. How do you run it from the browser bar?
    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Between Baltimore and DC
    Posts
    3,579
    I am not sure what in the world you mean.

    You want to make it a bookmarklet?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bookmarklet


    You want to just run code you paste in?
    Code:
     javascript:var a = "hi"; alert(a); void(0);
    Eric
    Tech Author [Ajax In Action, JavaScript: Visual Blueprint] | twitter | linkedin | http://www.pascarello.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by A1ien51 View Post
    I am not sure what in the world you mean.

    You want to make it a bookmarklet?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bookmarklet


    You want to just run code you paste in?
    Code:
     javascript:var a = "hi"; alert(a); void(0);
    Eric
    I mean like this: http://webpage.com/index.html?(code that calls JavaScript that is in the index.html)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Between Baltimore and DC
    Posts
    3,579
    That is not possible, imagine what hackers could do if they could do that.

    Eric
    Tech Author [Ajax In Action, JavaScript: Visual Blueprint] | twitter | linkedin | http://www.pascarello.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by A1ien51 View Post
    That is not possible, imagine what hackers could do if they could do that.

    Eric
    Well I have a similar solution when I want to load in different iframe's on a page. Is it possible to do this with div's instead?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    urbana, il
    Posts
    2,787
    Quote Originally Posted by A1ien51 View Post
    Code:
     javascript:var a = "hi"; alert(a); void(0);
    aside:
    we don't need void(0).
    i figured out a trick by re-reading the ecma spec.

    simplify your bookmarklets and javascript: links by using an extra semi to create an empty statement; essentially the same thing as void(0)...

    Code:
    javascript:var a = "hi"; alert(a);;
    double tested with IE8, FF3.6, O10, C4, S4.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles