www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: How can I split a PHP form into two sections, before submission to a database?

Hybrid View

Unhappy How can I split a PHP form into two sections, before submission to a database?

Hi guys,

I have set up a PHP form for a competition, for users to enter and all information to be stored in a database. I used the following NetTut+ tutorial to do so: http://tr.im/SwAd.

I've got the form submitting to the database as required, but with so many additional questions being asked, I would like to split the form into two separate sections. Obviously the first page would say continue to the next step before the second step allowing for the form to be submitted to the database.

The content that the user sees should be split, but should all be a part of the same form. Step 1 > Step 2 before submission.

Would anyone know of or recommend any methods to do this?

I'm a beginner so please be nice.

Cheers,

Daniel

Quote Originally Posted by banjax View Post
    The content that the user sees should be split, but should all be a part of the same form. Step 1 > Step 2 before submission.
    You have form entry separated over two served documents, and you want to know how to store Step 1 input until Step 2 input is obtained?

There are several approaches:

1. You can collect Step 1 input on the server side and store it in a temporary file with an identifier as to which user (a user id or session id) which you send out with Step 2 form and then receive on its submission, marrying them. PHP will store data on the filesystem itself, or you can have a temporary record created by PHP on your (MySQL?) database, which is then marked as permanent when all input is obtained and its format confirmed.