www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: URL for a sub domain

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2

    URL for a sub domain

    Hi Guys,

    Our asp.net website has two major sub domain, residential and business.
    Now the client wants us to investigate, if its possible to give independent URL for each sub domain.

    Example:
    URL of my site: http://www.abc.com

    New URLs for sub domain would be.

    Business: http://www.business.abc.com
    Residential: http://www.residential.abc.com

    Any help ???

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    46
    I'd like to help you with this problem, but I'm not clear as to what you're trying to accomplish here. I think the confusion is that you're using sub domain to mean two different things. Your first reference to sub domain might not mean business.abc.com but instead mean that your existing site has two main sections. If that's the case, how are the sections currently seperated? Is it based on sub folders (ie. abc.com/residential and abc.com/business) or is there some other method for seperation?

    The solution, if the end result would be business.abc.com and residential.abc.com will depend on how the site is currently developed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2
    >>> Is it based on sub folders (ie. abc.com/residential and abc.com/business)..
    Bingo you got it, sorry for confusing you with the word "sub domain"

    Our website has two main folders, business and residential and now they want URLs like

    Business: http://www.business.abc.com
    Residential: http://www.residential.abc.com

    Thanks for replying...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1,086
    Of course you can.

    That's how Godaddy sets up "Deluxe Hosting".

    Your first domain is the root folder, and each subsequent domain goes inside of it as a subdomain but the DNS points to the subdomain as the root for the next domain.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,227
    This has nothing to do with your server language, although, being .NET, you're most likely on a Windows server and simply need to add each site (subdomain) to IIS individually.

    Subdomains are treated no differently than abc.com and 123.com. They are only remotely related when it comes to DNS, NOT IIS.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    46
    The one thing you might run into is path problems if the files in your subdirectory reference any files in your main directory. Other than that, it should be fairly straight forward. Assuming you're using IIS, I would go to Microsoft and find the instructions for the version of IIS you're running.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles