www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: SOAP call in Javascript to secure WSDL and database

Hybrid View

SOAP call in Javascript to secure WSDL and database

Is it possible to call a WSDL document behind authentication with an existing SOAP service to pull data from a database behind authentication in Javascript?

I'm new to this, but I'm a very quick learner. Ultimately, I want to insert script into a spreadsheet to aggregate data from a database behind authentication.

Many thanks, in advance.

I'm working off of this framework, but not sure how to authenticate:

Code:
      function getAsObjectBydatabaseID(0113e545fb9f4cf960) {
        var wsdl = SoapService.wsdl("https://~here's the wsdl behind authentication~?wsdl");
        var xget_Xreport = wsdl.getAsObjectByID();

var param = Xml.element("getAsObjectByID", [
                      Xml.attribute("xmlns", "http://schemas.xmlsoap.org"),
                      Xml.element("Xreport", [
                        Xreport
                      ])
                    ]);

var result = get_report.Xreport(param);
        return result.getAsObjectByIDResponse(not entirely sure what to put here!);
      }

~bump~

I'm not sure either. What framework is it?

The google apps script framework (webapp).

Ultimately, I'd like to see data print to a spreadsheet cell via a javascript SOAP call. The data and the WSDL are behind authentication, and I'm just not sure how to add my credentials in the script.
    Last edited by jqwm8558; 05-24-2010 at 02:55 PM.

Alright. That puts some context on the issue, which is helpful. Though it looks like your script is sitting on top of some other JavaScript framework or library. Or do you have a javascript library provided by Google? I couldn't find one.

In any case, the code you've posted is presumably backed by an XMLHttpRequest object at some level. And that is where you need to work in the authentication:

http://code.google.com/apis/spreadsh...Authenticating