dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: How to protect my Clients FTP credentials

Hybrid View

How to protect my Clients FTP credentials

Hello Everyone,

I am a wordpress coder and my company has been growing significantly over the past year or so. Due to an increasing workload, I recently began to hire independent contractors from resources like ***** and Elance. I have built a great team, and am very happy with their performance, however I also have to keep mind the possibility that any one of them may decide one day, that they are unhappy with my company.

In this case, I am concerned that ( out of spite ) there is a chance they could decide to destroy any of my client websites. For this reason, I always have the contractor do the developing on my servers then I personally move the files to my client server once the project is complete.

The problem with this, is that my client base keeps growing, which is making it increasingly more difficult to keep up with my workload plus move files server-to-server on work done by contractors.

I would like to begin allowing my guys to have access to my clients servers, while at the same time protect my client and my company in the case there is a problem with the contractor.

My Question:
    Is there a solution that provides a browser based ftp client, that will allow me to securely store my clients ftp credentials then provide my contractors / employees login access to that environment. This would allow me to regulate the servers and directories each person could access. From here, they would be able to login --> select a client --> then ftp into the server, having access to only the directories I allow them to.

In the case something went wrong and the contractor no longer was with my company, I could then terminate their account with the system as opposed to having to change 50 ftp accounts.

Additional Details