www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: null or not an object error in IE works perfectly in Firefox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4

    null or not an object error in IE works perfectly in Firefox

    I have a method which works fine in FF, however in IE, I get a null or not an object error. Here is the code, IE complain about parameter lp which I pass value from another method.

    Code:
    # function doLoadDictionary(word,lp,U){  
    #    var X = !window.XMLHttpRequest ? new ActiveXObject('Microsoft.XMLHTTP') : new XMLHttpRequest();  
    #    X.open('GET', U, true );  
    #    X.onreadystatechange=function(){  
    #       if (X.readyState == 4){  
    #         if (X.status == 200) {  
    #           if(U!=null){  
    #              xmlDoc=X.responseXML;  
    #              var eng = xmlDoc.getElementsByTagName("english");  
    #              for(var i=0;i<eng.length;i++){  
    #                  if(word== eng[i].childNodes[0].nodeValue.toUpperCase()){  
    #                  slang = word;  
    #                  var lang = xmlDoc.getElementsByTagName(lp.toLowerCase());  
    #                  tlang = lang[i].childNodes[0].nodeValue;  
    #                  break;  
    #                 }  
    #              }  
    #             slang == undefined?(document.dictionary.english.value =''):(document.dictionary.english.value =slang);  
    #             tlang == undefined?(document.dictionary.target.value =''):(document.dictionary.target.value =tlang);  
    #             }   
    #         }  
    #       }  
    #    }  
    #    X.send('');  
    # }
    IE complains this line:
    var lang = xmlDoc.getElementsByTagName(lp.toLowerCase()); that lp is null or not an object error.

    Any help would be great. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts
    15,428

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4
    lp is parameter I pass from another method. Here is the calling method.
    Code:
    # function showDictionary(){  
    #   var list = document.getElementById("dOption");  
    #   var itemName= list.options[list.selectedIndex].value;  
    #   var langPair = itemName.split("_");  
    #   var sl = "English";  
    #   var tl = langPair[1];  
    #   switch (tl){  
    #     case "ar-AR":   
    #       tl = "Arabic";  
    #       break;  
    #     case "de-DE":   
    #       tl = "German";  
    #       break;  
    #     case "es-ES":   
    #      tl = "Spanish";  
    #      break;  
    #     case "fr-FR":   
    #      tl = "French";  
    #      break;  
    #     case "it-IT":   
    #      tl = "Italian";  
    #      break;  
    #     case "ja-JP":   
    #      tl = "Japanese";  
    #      break;  
    #     case "pt-PT":   
    #      tl = "Portuguese";  
    #      break;  
    #     case "ko-KR":   
    #      tl = "Korean";  
    #      break;  
    #     case "ru-RU":   
    #      tl ="Russian";  
    #      break;  
    #     case"zh-CN":   
    #      tl = "Simplified_Chinese";  
    #      break;  
    #     case "zh-TW":   
    #      tl = "Traditional_Chinese";   
    #      break; }  
    #     document.getElementById("sl").innerHTML = sl;  
    #     document.getElementById("tl").innerHTML = tl;  
    #     doLoadDictionary(this.words,tl,'city.xml');  
    # }
    lp is a string, is the language name.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4
    I found the problem. It is this line in calling method.

    var itemName= list.options[list.selectedIndex].value;

    in IE it returns null.

    What's IE way to get drop down list value?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,767
    You can do list.value. That selectedIndex was for older browsers.
    Great wit and madness are near allied, and fine a line their bounds divide.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4
    Actually I change value to text, then it works.

    var itemName= list.options[list.selectedIndex].text

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    667
    Quote Originally Posted by Phoebe Song View Post
    I found the problem. It is this line in calling method.

    var itemName= list.options[list.selectedIndex].value;

    in IE it returns null.

    What's IE way to get drop down list value?
    Do your <option> elements have a marked-up value attribute? They need to have.
    Y_U U_G_A_E_U_ B_S_A_D_

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles