www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Nav Bar Insertion Problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,141

    Nav Bar Insertion Problem

    Hey guys i have a small problem i cant figure how to put the navbar i want in, i should have done it whilst i was coding the layout rather than leave it till last.

    basically theres a container centered thats 780px in width, the blue bar i want a nav bar box to be there so i can put my list menu in.

    but for some reason i cant get the 780px width and 37px height box to go in the blue bit, goes to the top or under it.

    anyhelp is appreciated as always.
    Cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,141
    Ive changed the blue bar bit so the height is smaller now 20px i believe.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,141
    Im not sure if im not thinking about this logically but this is usually so easy so not sure where im going wrong.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3,346
    Not sure how to help without a link or some code to see...probably would need an image showing what you see now and what you want to see as well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,141
    Quote Originally Posted by criterion9 View Post
    Not sure how to help without a link or some code to see...probably would need an image showing what you see now and what you want to see as well.
    Its been some week lol, i cant believe i forgot the link.

    http://www.ukbodybuildingforums.co.u...tory/index.php

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3,346
    Are you talking about the "Sponsors" etc? I'm still not quite following what part you are talking about.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,141
    Sorry what i meant was the blue bar thats under the logo and the ad banner.

    i want that part to be a horizontal menu centered as the div container is centered if you know what i mean.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3,346
    If you want the width of the "blue bar" to match the width of the logo + ad then move that code inside the "logocontain" div. Otherwise I'm not really sure what you are talking about. If you could provide an image of what you want it to look like I think I'd be more help.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,141
    Sorry im finding it hard to explain so ive uploaded a pic.

    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...y182uk/pic.jpg

    Basically where that white line starts and ends in the blue bar id like a nav div the width would be 800px and height would be 27px which is how high the blue bar is, then i could put my horizontal list menu in it.

    Everytime i try to add the nav bar it goes to top of the screen.

    Thanks for the help and hopefully thats abit easier to understand.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3,346
    Put your nav bar contents within the "logocontain". See if that sets you up better.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,141
    Quote Originally Posted by criterion9 View Post
    Put your nav bar contents within the "logocontain". See if that sets you up better.
    should i put it after the the addiv that is floated right or before?

    cheers

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3,346
    I'd put it just before the closing tag and use clear:both to force it to the bottom....(provided there is actually content in the div rather than just background images).

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,141
    ok ive stuck it in but its no where to be seen, ive made it a green background just now so its noticeable.

    is it because the image is on top of it? i used clear:both

    cheers again.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3,346
    I don't see clear both applied to your navbar...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,141
    Quote Originally Posted by criterion9 View Post
    I don't see clear both applied to your navbar...
    this is the code i have so far:

    #navbar {
    width:800px;
    height:27px;
    background:green;
    clear:both;
    }

    Cheers

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles