www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: page validation question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    281

    page validation question

    Because my pages are being reviewed by possible employers i'm trying to get them to validate 100%.

    i have a page that links to the Google language translator and the code is:

    <script src="http://www.gmodules.com/ig/ifr?url=http://www.google.com/ig/modules/translatemypage.xml&up_source_language=en&w=160&h=60&title=&border=&output=js"></script>

    is there a way or recommendation to get this to validate?

    does it matter?!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    389
    This should work:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.gmodules.com/ig/ifr?
    url=http://www.google.com/ig/modules/translatemypage.xml&amp;up_source_language=en&amp;w=160&amp;h=60&amp;title=&amp
    ;border=&amp;output=js"></script>

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    281
    thank-you but that didn't work.

    i don't think it's possible to make this pass validation

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    389
    Quote Originally Posted by toptomato View Post
    thank-you but that didn't work.

    i don't think it's possible to make this pass validation
    We'd have to see all your code then. I just ran it through the validator with a 4.01 Strict DTD and it validated.

    Make sure all of the ampersands have amp; after them.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,767
    Replace all & with &#37;26. Using &amp; is a very bad idea because it will probably cause the URL to fail.
    Great wit and madness are near allied, and fine a line their bounds divide.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    281
    No, i meant that the URL doesn't work when changing to ampersands.

    thanks though!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    389
    Quote Originally Posted by Declan1991 View Post
    Replace all & with &#37;26. Using &amp; is a very bad idea because it will probably cause the URL to fail.
    Good info...didn't know that. I use it quite a bit and haven't had issues...i'll do some testing...maybe i have stuff failing all over the place! Appreciate it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,767
    &amp; is only used to display an & on the page. For URLs, it's customary to encode things as &#37;xx, where xx is the hexadecimal ASCII character code.
    Great wit and madness are near allied, and fine a line their bounds divide.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast (MS)
    Posts
    2,199
    If you do not control the page that is being called, you can not control the validation of the content generated. You can only control the validation of your own pages.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles