www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wordpress - can you implement specific feature only?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    42

    Wordpress - can you implement specific feature only?

    Hi, does anyone know any other wordpress like system is out there?

    And can wordpress be implemented on your own website, because it seems like that if you use wordpress you have to use some kind of wordpress template/theme only?

    Does wordpress let you add only some features of wordpress, like allowing users to comment at the bottom of your own webpage? -this is what I want.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Tetouán, Morocco
    Posts
    8
    Wordpress is a very, very, VERY versatile tool. You cant do literally anything with it.
    Its the easiest CMS around. (content managing system = lets you upload stuff to your site in a easy way)
    joomla, drupal, nuke... all harder to code for than wordpress.

    I suggest you find yourself a (free) domain and download Filezilla so you can connect with your site and upload Wordpress onto it!

    About 7 months ago I started looking to get started with WP, took me a whole afternoon to figure things out, 3 hrs to find an instruction video! And another 3 to set it up. lol

    http://www.cre8d-design.com/2006/08/...st-tutorial-1/

    If you need any help just send me a PM with specific questions.
    Good luck!
    Last edited by ZUser1; 08-25-2010 at 02:34 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by ZUser1 View Post
    Wordpress is a very, very, VERY versatile tool. You cant do literally anything with it.
    Do you mean: you can do anything with it, you wrote cant?

    Quote Originally Posted by ZUser1 View Post
    I suggest you find yourself a (free) domain and download Filezilla so you can connect with your site and upload Wordpress onto it!
    So, can someone just add commenting feature to their current website with wordpress? you dont need to use word press web template?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    noosa
    Posts
    1

    Wordpress

    Hi
    Word press is pretty adaptable..
    If you look at the code in the themes area you can see how it works ie.
    there is a php file called comments.php, single.php for the single posts etc.
    As for the theme there is no problems just modifying one of the themes to match your current website so it appears seamless as I have done at
    http://www.corporatehippies.com.au
    You can then use the database information on any of your pages to display the output...
    Good Luck
    P.S I used wordpress for dummies the book, it's probably at google books to browse.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    42
    thanks surfbouy and ZUser1.
    I need to learn: MS Access, SQL, PHP and more Javascript

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    242
    Quote Originally Posted by kash86uk View Post
    So, can someone just add commenting feature to their current website with wordpress? you dont need to use word press web template?
    I use just the Wordpress internals for this page:

    http://vijayanderson.com/calendar.php

    The site owner (my brother, actually) can add new entries through the wordpress blog interface (he doesn't know HTML), and they go into the WP database.

    Then to put the entries on the page, this code is at the top of the page:

    <?php
    // Include Wordpress
    define('WP_USE_THEMES', false);
    require('wp-blog-header.php');
    ?>

    and then to actually pull the stuff out of WP this code loops through the entries and inserts them in page:

    <?php query_posts('showposts=-1');
    while (have_posts()):
    the_post();
    echo '<p class="blog-entry-title">';
    the_title();
    echo "</p>\n";
    echo '<div class="item-body">';
    the_content();
    echo "</div>\n";
    endwhile;?>

    The result is basically a simple blog that doesn't look like a typical WP blog. I'm not a Wordpress expert, so I'm not sure this is the best way to do it, but but it's been working OK for a few months now.

    I can't say I fully understand your problem, but this illustrates that you can fairly easily pull the data out of Wordpress without using WP templates.

    ...Mike

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    42
    thanks handcraftedweb. this is the answer i am looking for!!

    yeah, my question is bit difficult to understand, as i didnt know how to say it as i dont really know much about wordpress and php.

    Do you put these in the body tag?
    I need to learn: MS Access, SQL, PHP and more Javascript

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    242
    Quote Originally Posted by kash86uk View Post
    thanks handcraftedweb. this is the answer i am looking for!!

    yeah, my question is bit difficult to understand, as i didnt know how to say it as i dont really know much about wordpress and php.

    Do you put these in the body tag?
    The first part, this:

    <?php
    // Include Wordpress
    define('WP_USE_THEMES', false);
    require('wp-blog-header.php');
    ?>

    is at the very top of the page, before any HTML. The second part is in embedded in the body of the HTML, where ever you want the blog entries to show up in the page.

    ...Mike

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    42
    this is great, thanks.
    I need to learn: MS Access, SQL, PHP and more Javascript

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles