www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: IE Issues / Refresh

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5

    IE Issues / Refresh

    New to the site and looking for help with a frustrating issue. We are a design studio and our coder has built a site in Joomla for a client.

    http://cintiprinters.com.hosting.fuse.net

    This issue is the site is breaking on certain computers. Not easily duplicated. The home page launches and is broke until a user refreshes or goes to another page and returns home. The problem appears on come IE7 and IE8 browsers. Once the viewer goes to another page and returns home then the home page displays correctly

    Frustrating as all heck! I'll offer a Starbucks card to the person who defines what the issue is!!!

    Thanks
    JimBlk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    189
    on your page retail-support there's an error on line 9 of the code. seems an object has been declared but do not exist or the object really doesn't support a specific method declared on it. Since i cannot view the source code of the retail-support page, i won't be able to trace the exact object the IE is talking about.

    oh. And by the way, I'm not after the starbucks card though. Just wanna help. =)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5

    Thumbs up Re:

    Hey, Have you checked for the browser compatibility Issue???? I can recommend you to do so first... Hope it will work for you...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    62
    Can you define "broke". Is it a layout issue, white screen of death, an error message?

    When I load up the page in IE9 I see a problem with the positioning of your slide show, and I get the same error message as iahne in IE7 and IE8.
    Quint Jensen
    Web Developer
    Scaled Solutions

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks to all for your replies.

    The problem with the page is a layout / rendering issue. As pointed out, the positioning of the slide show is shifted (I've seen it moved to the right). If you go to an other page in the site and return home the page displays correctly. I can not duplicate the shifting problem on my browsers, IE7 and IE8, both windows 7 and XP. I am running a virtual machine on my Mac for the XP.

    Yes the site has been checked for browser compatibility. I have ran it through Spoon's Sandbox and validated the code through Dreamweaver CS3. both come up clean. If you check it through Spoon, it renders fine. Is there any other method you would recommend to validate the code?

    Regarding the code on the Retail-Support page... Would that cause an issue on the home page and prevent it from rendering properly?

    To further add to the mystery, my developer built a very quick duplicate home page on his own server and it appears the page renders properly. The developer did not get all of the copy, drop down menus and links set, but the home page appears to be rendering correctly on his server. You can view the duplicate home page attempt at:

    http://g5.angleseyinteractive.com/index.php

    Which makes me wonder why the home page will not render correctly on the staging server (which is with Cincinnati Bell), yet it loads ok on my developers server. I understand not all of the code has been set, but from the looks of things. it works on his.

    Thanks for all your help! I'm not a Starbucks fan either, but a solution would be as good as a cold beer on a hot summer's afternoon after mowing the yard!

    JB

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5
    My developer check line 9 of the code and it ok

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    189
    Regarding the code on the Retail-Support page... Would that cause an issue on the home page and prevent it from rendering properly?
    Yes. Especially in IE. solving a second problem (which is from home page you're talking about) won't be easy without resolving the first problem (line 9 that says an error on the object used). Believe me, I've experienced this type of solving just last week. I was solving a problem wherein the only thing I should focus on was the first one then everything's gonna be alright.

    If your developer do not believe what you see in your own eyes he/she better meet with you to see it for himself/herself. They can always say that it works fine on their side. As on their part as well,their customer can always say that it doesn't works fine so it would be better that you both sees the problem itself.

    Anyway, I'm still checking on the site to see where could be the problem.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    5
    Hi iahne,

    This is what my developer had mentioned

    "this does not really matter, line 9 of the code does not do what your friend is referencing, and an object is client side, referencing javascript, so it is line 9 of the generated code, not the server side code, which is a meta name="description"

    I'm not sure it that helps. As I mentioned this is all being generated by Joomla.

    Thanks in advance -- Plus I can give you access to the site if that would help, but I'd like to talk to you first before I do this.

    thanks
    JB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    189
    Giving me the access to it might risk your site. Seems like you're trusting me already. I can trace the problem of the site but there will be lots of reading I'll be doing since it's not my coding if you're not in a hurry. I can give time to it during my lunch breaks or evening coding but yes I'd be happy to trace that for you. if you want to talk to me you can add me on my email ill be sending you.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles