dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Using Wamp Server for PHP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    400

    Using Wamp Server for PHP

    Hey, I just installed Wamp server on my laptop and everything seems to be running fine, can get into MYSQL and make databases and everything, but I don't know how to use PHP with it. I go into the www folder and make some test PHP and then load it into a browser but it doesn't seem to be reading it as PHP for some reason. I have made sure I have "all services running" not sure if there is something else I am supposed to be doing.

    Any help would be appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    19,637
    Make sure you launch the file via a url (e.g.: "http://localhost/file.php") in the browser address bar, not by double-clicking an icon or via the File->Open menu option. If you just double-click it or such, then it is not being processed by the web server and thus not being routed to PHP for parsing/execution.
    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

    eBookworm.us

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    15
    And if you have just set it up make sure the server is 'localhost' , username is 'root' and the password is blank.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    400
    Ah yeah I'm dumb, I was just going to the webhost folder and dragging it to my browser. Now when I go through the php admin panel whatever thingy it is all working fine.

    SWEET.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1

    Check

    Another thing to check. Check the php.ini file via the wamp menu. By default the setting for short_open_tag is set to off which means it wants your php code to be enclosed between <?php and ?>. I left off the php and just used <? ?> so my php code would not run at first. If you want to use <? ?> set the short_open_tag to "On" and restart php. If you always use <?php ?> you can leave the value as "Off".

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2
    Anyone know if there is a way to use wamp and IIS at the same time. I installed IIS on my machine and then wamp stopped working. I think there is a way to change localhost port for wamp, but I don't know how.

    San Diego Web Development

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles