www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: WordPress MCE Editor is stripping my HTML.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Atlanta,GA
    Posts
    53

    WordPress MCE Editor is stripping my HTML.

    Hi.
    I am new to Wordpress and am having trouble with the built in MCE Editor, I have installed the new MCE Advanced plugin.

    When I copy and paste html into the Wordpress editor and hit publish, it strips my tags.

    It will turn this : <div class="square" id="t1"></div>. To this: <div class="square"></div>
    and <div id="slideshow-container"> , becomes : <div>.

    Do you know of a valid tutorial on how to mod the editor to allow all markup to remain intact. I have not run across very many helpful tips and the ones I have found did not work.

    Thanks in Advance.

    _js

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Atlanta,GA
    Posts
    53
    This is Word Press 3.0 and none of the old fixes to valid_elements in the tiny_mce_config.php file are valid anymore because they dropped the timy_mce_config.php file. So I am lost.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    22,326
    Sorry, I've never used that plug-in. I just use the built-in editor (I'm still on 2.9.x, as I didn't feel like finding out what 3.0 might break), and use the "HTML" tab in the post editor when I want to input HTML mark-up.
    "Well done....Consciousness to sarcasm in five seconds!" ~ Terry Pratchett, Night Watch

    How to Ask Questions the Smart Way (not affiliated with this site, but well worth reading)

    My Blog
    cwrBlog: simple, no-database PHP blogging framework

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Atlanta,GA
    Posts
    53
    thanks I may downgrade to 2.9. does your html editor turn <div id="s" class="r"> into <div class="r"> or <div class="r"> into <div> , when you hit the update button ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    22,326
    Quote Originally Posted by snaphead View Post
    thanks I may downgrade to 2.9. does your html editor turn <div id="s" class="r"> into <div class="r"> or <div class="r"> into <div> , when you hit the update button ?
    Actually, I just upgraded to 3.0.x this weekend, as the template author just released a 3.0-compatible version of the template I'm using. I just tried editing a post using the HTML tab in the basic (non-plugin) editor, and it seemed to work fine. I added <div id="r" class="s">test</div> to a post, saved it, viewed it in my browser, and confirmed that the mark-up was as entered when I did a "view source" in the browser.
    "Well done....Consciousness to sarcasm in five seconds!" ~ Terry Pratchett, Night Watch

    How to Ask Questions the Smart Way (not affiliated with this site, but well worth reading)

    My Blog
    cwrBlog: simple, no-database PHP blogging framework

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Atlanta,GA
    Posts
    53
    well that is strange, and in the back of my mind, it seems like it did work at one time. That means I am not quite sure where I went wrong. Thanks for the info, now I need to look for simpler answers. Maybe reinstall it? Do you think a plugin could be messing with it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    22,326
    Are you by any chance accidentally creating duplicate ID values? Maybe the editing software is "smart" enough to detect duplicate ID's and removes them (since [X]HTML ID's must be unique)? Pure speculation on my part, as I've not tested it.
    "Well done....Consciousness to sarcasm in five seconds!" ~ Terry Pratchett, Night Watch

    How to Ask Questions the Smart Way (not affiliated with this site, but well worth reading)

    My Blog
    cwrBlog: simple, no-database PHP blogging framework

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Atlanta,GA
    Posts
    53
    no cuz it will do it on a new page with only one id in it. I have been told it is mceeditor that is doing this and it is only the id of a div tag that is affected.
    there is a way to change it using tinyMCE.init({ }); but dont know where to find this or how to properly write this the documentation is pretty vague.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center

"

"

X vBulletin 4.2.2 Debug Information

  • Page Generation 0.17562 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,915KB
  • Queries Executed 15 (?)
More Information
Template Usage (33):
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_global_above_footer
  • (1)ad_global_below_navbar
  • (1)ad_global_header1
  • (1)ad_global_header2
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)ad_thread_first_post_content
  • (1)ad_thread_last_post_content
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)headinclude_bottom
  • (8)memberaction_dropdown
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (1)navbar_moderation
  • (1)navbar_noticebit
  • (1)navbar_tabs
  • (2)option
  • (8)postbit
  • (8)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (8)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available (6):
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files (26):
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/class_bootstrap.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_navigation.php
  • ./includes/class_friendly_url.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/class_bootstrap_framework.php
  • ./vb/vb.php
  • ./vb/phrase.php
  • ./includes/functions_facebook.php
  • ./includes/functions_calendar.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_notice.php
  • ./packages/vbattach/attach.php
  • ./vb/types.php
  • ./vb/cache.php
  • ./vb/cache/db.php
  • ./vb/cache/observer/db.php
  • ./vb/cache/observer.php 

Hooks Called (70):
  • init_startup
  • friendlyurl_resolve_class
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • database_pre_fetch_array
  • database_post_fetch_array
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • global_bootstrap_init_start
  • global_bootstrap_init_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • load_show_variables
  • load_forum_show_variables
  • global_state_check
  • global_bootstrap_complete
  • global_start
  • style_fetch
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • strip_bbcode
  • friendlyurl_clean_fragment
  • friendlyurl_geturl
  • forumjump
  • cache_templates
  • cache_templates_process
  • template_register_var
  • template_render_output
  • fetch_template_start
  • fetch_template_complete
  • parse_templates
  • fetch_musername
  • notices_check_start
  • notices_noticebit
  • process_templates_complete
  • friendlyurl_redirect_canonical
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • memberaction_dropdown
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • build_navigation_data
  • build_navigation_array
  • check_navigation_permission
  • process_navigation_links_start
  • process_navigation_links_complete
  • set_navigation_menu_element
  • build_navigation_menudata
  • build_navigation_listdata
  • build_navigation_list
  • set_navigation_tab_main
  • set_navigation_tab_fallback
  • navigation_tab_complete
  • fb_like_button
  • showthread_complete
  • page_templates