www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Link works in IE but not in Firefox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    53

    Link works in IE but not in Firefox

    I didnt know where this question would fit but:

    the back link in the top left corner works fine in Internet explorer but when i try any other browser like firefox or safari it wont work. How do i fix it

    Page

    On this page also sometimes the image will show its loading and then disappear and you have to refresh to see it. How do i fix this also?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    53
    144 views to the thread and no one can help?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    7
    It seems as if your apDiv1 is nested inside apDiv3, causing the apDiv3 area to be on top of the link.

    Close the apDiv1 div.

    On another note, I hate to tell you this, but the code is horrible and not semantic, and you will have numerous other cross browser compatibility problems other than just this.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    53
    Thanks for helping.

    Can you just expand what you mean by the code is horrible, what needs to be fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    7
    Sure, sorry for being general... Maybe I spoke too soon by saying that as maybe your js requires this, but just at quick glance things look fishy..

    1. You need to set an external style sheet. Avoid on page styles.
    2. Specify absolute urls for style links.
    3. You have empty divs.
    4. You're using <p> tags with non-breaking spaces to create space instead of using proper css.
    5. It looks like you preload images after you load the page which is backwards.. (not sure how that script works though) You should have the user-agent run the preload script prior to loading images.

    Its a pretty simple page, the gallery player you are using may not be the most efficient one.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    53
    Thanks alot, im new to making sites and this is my first one, and there are some bugs like it running slow. I'll address the problems you have outlined. To fix the back button will i have to take it out of a div? at the moment its an image so should i put the link as a hyperlink? Thanks for helping me

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    7
    Try Replacing This:

    Code:
    <div id="apDiv1">
      <div id="apDiv3"><a href="../../../../gallery.html"><img src="../../../../../Images/back.png" width="36" height="12" border="0"></a></div>
      <p>&nbsp;</p>
      <!-- TemplateBeginRepeat name="LogoRegion" --><!-- TemplateEndRepeat -->
      <div>
    
        <div> </div>
        <div> </div>
      </div>
    </div>
    <p>&nbsp; </p>
    <p>&nbsp; </p>
    with this:

    Code:
    <div id="apDiv1"></div>
    <div id="apDiv3"><a href="../../../../gallery.html"><img src="../../../../../Images/back.png" width="36" height="12" border="0"></a></div>

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    53
    Thanks, it i've just replaced it and still have the same problem - fine in IE, and unresponsive in anything else

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    7
    Not really sure how that gallery script is working to insert.

    Try moving the apdiv1 above the galleria div so it is parsed before the script.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    53
    <removed>
    Last edited by Az-18; 10-29-2010 at 12:25 PM. Reason: posted twice accidently

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    7
    yes however the image and link is not within the apdiv1 tag, move the image and link out of the apdiv3 tag and into the apdiv1 tag.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    53
    The gallery script takes the images from a div on the page to display them.

    Tried that too, didnt work.

    Appreciate your help btw.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    7
    NP.. sry I can't help more.. Seems like the gallery player is sitting ontop of the link not allowing a click. Maybe clearing the zindex of the divs may help?? Good luck!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles