www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: second div drops down in ie7

second div drops down in ie7

Hi,
    I'm sure this is simple. I have 2 divs, to be displayed side by side (ie. 2 columns and I must use divs, not tables). both are float:left. the first div has a static width and all content fits in nicely.

The problem: in ffox and ie8, all is well and the second div appears to the right of the first div as a "second column", In IE7, the information if the second div drops down and is positioned under the first div.

I'm not a beginner so any tips as to where to look will help.

CHeers,

Lightbulb

Hey there,

My best guess would be to add fixed to both columns. If there is a width difference between the browsers, you might want to create an IE stylesheet and target a specific width for the right column div.

Let me know how you go.

greenlightmedia.com.au

No luck, same problem., any other ideas?

Does anyone know how If there is a IE developer tool bar type app which would allow me to change css values just like firebug in ffox? this would really help me debug this one.

Hmm, could you post the code?

Internet Developer Bar = http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...d-b8856fced535

greenlightmedia.com.au

Thansk ibrahimA

I have the IDDB but I don't believe it allows one to change the values on the fly like firebug. Am i wrong here?

nah sounds about right, IE was never any good at helping developers out.

greenlightmedia.com.au

I discovered that it had something to do with ie7 not setting the correct width of a div which does is taking it's width from either the parent container or the content. It behaves differently than other browsers. not sure how.

I fixed the problem by using a PHP if statement (the site is Joomla based) and got it to work. a hack, but it works.
    thanks,

resolved