www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [RESOLVED] Place backslashes into a newly created javascript file

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    186

    resolved [RESOLVED] Place backslashes into a newly created javascript file

    Hi all,

    First, I know that this is partially a PHP code, however; the portion that I need help with is Javascript so I decided to put it in the javascript category. This code takes the text contained in $code5 and puts it in a .js file. The problem is that when the text in $code5 is placed in the .js file, the backslashes (\) before the quotes (") are deleted. I need these backslashes to remain when the code is placed in the . js file. I tried adding a second backslash next to each backslah to see if that would work, but it didn't. any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Cedric

    <?php
    // Create, edit and upload php file 5 (e.g. adp_1.js)
    $code5 = "ADPcontent$ad=\"<iframe src=\"popups/$page/$ad.php\" name=\"adpiframe\" id=\"adpiframe\" width=100% height=100% align=\"center\" Frameborder=\"0\" Scrolling=\"no\" marginheight=\"0\" marginwidth=\"0\"></iframe><div style=\"cursorointer;position:absolute;top:0;right:$closebtn;background:url(popups/$page/pics/close.jpg) no-repeat; width:131px; height:40px\" onclick=\"UpdateContent('popup$ad','');hide('popup$ad')\"></div>\"";
    ?>
    <? $file5 = 'temp_files/'.$adp2.''.$ad.'.js'; ?>
    <? file_put_contents($file5, $code5); ?>

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,803
    Instead of escaping the double quotes, use single quotes

    Code:
     
    $code5 = "ADPcontent$ad='<iframe src='popups/$page/$ad.php' name='adpiframe' ......

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    186
    hi, thanks for your reply. I tried what you suggested and unfortunately it doesn't work with the code I have. Is there any way to leave it like it is with the double quotes? Thanks so much!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    186
    This is what i used taht didn't work:

    <?php
    // Create, edit and upload php file 5 (e.g. adp_1.js)
    $code5 = "ADPcontent$ad='<iframe src='popups/$page/$ad.php' name='adpiframe' id='adpiframe' width=100% height=100% align='center' Frameborder='0' Scrolling='no' marginheight='0' marginwidth='0'></iframe><div style='cursorointer;position:absolute;top:0;right:$closebtn;background:url(popups/$page/pics/close.jpg) no-repeat; width:131px; height:40px' onclick='UpdateContent('popup$ad','');hide('popup$ad')'></div>'";
    ?>
    <? $file5 = 'temp_files/'.$adp2.''.$ad.'.js'; ?>
    <? file_put_contents($file5, $code5); ?>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,803
    Code:
    $code5 = "ADPcontent$ad='<iframe src='popups/$page/$ad.php'
    When you wrap variables in single quotes, they are not evaluated like they are when enclosed in double quotes, so you have to concatenate the variables.

    Code:
    $code5 = "ADPcontent$ad='<iframe src='popups/".$page.'/'.$ad.php."'".......
    It boils down to personal choice. Imo I find it easier to concatenate variables than use escaped quotes because it is easier on my aging eyes.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    186
    Hi tirna,

    Thanks for your continued help. Unfortunately I need it to look exactly as it does below (except to replace the variables with their values). I need all the double quotes and backslashes to be exactly as they when they are transfered to the .js file. Thanks so much

    $code5 = "ADPcontent$ad=\"<iframe src=\"popups/$page/$ad.php\" name=\"adpiframe\" id=\"adpiframe\" width=100&#37; height=100% align=\"center\" Frameborder=\"0\" Scrolling=\"no\" marginheight=\"0\" marginwidth=\"0\"></iframe><div style=\"cursorointer;position:absolute;top:0;right:$closebtn;background:url(popups/$page/pics/close.jpg) no-repeat; width:131px; height:40px\" onclick=\"UpdateContent('popup$ad','');hide('popup$ad')\"></div>\"";

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    186
    hi all, does anyone have any ideas? thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    186
    figures it out. thanks to this page: http://www.techotopia.com/index.php/...Variable_Types

    apparently if i want the backslash to stay, i need to put 2 backslashes in there.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center

"

"

X vBulletin 4.2.2 Debug Information

  • Page Generation 0.10689 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,918KB
  • Queries Executed 15 (?)
More Information
Template Usage (33):
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_global_above_footer
  • (1)ad_global_below_navbar
  • (1)ad_global_header1
  • (1)ad_global_header2
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)ad_thread_first_post_content
  • (1)ad_thread_last_post_content
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)headinclude_bottom
  • (8)memberaction_dropdown
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (1)navbar_moderation
  • (1)navbar_noticebit
  • (1)navbar_tabs
  • (2)option
  • (8)postbit
  • (8)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (8)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available (6):
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files (26):
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/class_bootstrap.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_navigation.php
  • ./includes/class_friendly_url.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/class_bootstrap_framework.php
  • ./vb/vb.php
  • ./vb/phrase.php
  • ./includes/functions_facebook.php
  • ./includes/functions_calendar.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_notice.php
  • ./packages/vbattach/attach.php
  • ./vb/types.php
  • ./vb/cache.php
  • ./vb/cache/db.php
  • ./vb/cache/observer/db.php
  • ./vb/cache/observer.php 

Hooks Called (70):
  • init_startup
  • friendlyurl_resolve_class
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • database_pre_fetch_array
  • database_post_fetch_array
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • global_bootstrap_init_start
  • global_bootstrap_init_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • load_show_variables
  • load_forum_show_variables
  • global_state_check
  • global_bootstrap_complete
  • global_start
  • style_fetch
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • strip_bbcode
  • friendlyurl_clean_fragment
  • friendlyurl_geturl
  • forumjump
  • cache_templates
  • cache_templates_process
  • template_register_var
  • template_render_output
  • fetch_template_start
  • fetch_template_complete
  • parse_templates
  • fetch_musername
  • notices_check_start
  • notices_noticebit
  • process_templates_complete
  • friendlyurl_redirect_canonical
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • memberaction_dropdown
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • build_navigation_data
  • build_navigation_array
  • check_navigation_permission
  • process_navigation_links_start
  • process_navigation_links_complete
  • set_navigation_menu_element
  • build_navigation_menudata
  • build_navigation_listdata
  • build_navigation_list
  • set_navigation_tab_main
  • set_navigation_tab_fallback
  • navigation_tab_complete
  • fb_like_button
  • showthread_complete
  • page_templates