www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Help with HTML Forms & Tables

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14

    Help with HTML Forms & Tables

    Hello,

    So I've managed to make an html site for a business too, and I'm using table POST data for a php script. Everything works fine but my table spacing is no efficient. I'd like to keep the arrangement of tables all within the same form, but I would prefer that they are spread across the screen in columns rather than rows.

    Right now it looks like this for the tables:

    [Table1]
    [Table2]
    [Table3]
    [Table4]
    [Table5]
    [SUBMIT]
    I want it to look like this:

    [Table1][Table2]
    [Table3][Table4]
    [Table5]
    [SUBMIT]
    How do I set the tables to appear after the last one rather than below it, yet still use the same [SUMBIT] button for all tables.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    234
    this is more of a CSS question than HTML. You will have to set a width on the tables you want side by side. Make their width 50&#37; each or less and either float them or use display: inline-block. As long as you put the input fields inside of a <form> tag, the submission will pass all the data.

    Also you should not be using tables for something other than tabular data. I don't know what kind of data you are putting into the tables but if it's just a form with input boxes and buttons you should use divs instead. It will significantly cut down on the markup.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    Each table only consists of a text area. The text areas are just passing input text to a php script.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    ah got it set! Thanks for the help

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    234
    You're welcome.

    Since you're just using text area, I don't see the need for tables. Your markup could be something as simple as this:

    Code:
    <form action="processForm.php" action="post">
         <textarea id="text1" />
         <textarea id="text2" />
         <textarea id="text3" />
         <textarea id="text4" />
         <textarea id="text5" />
         <input type="submit" value="submit />
    </form>
    and the corresponding CSS would look something like this:

    Code:
    #text1, #text2
    {
         display: inline-block;
         width: 50&#37;;
    }

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    50
    Use this HTML code:
    HTML Code:
    <table width="200" border="1">
      <tr>
        <td height="87"><table width="200" border="1">
          <tr>
            <td>table1</td>
            <td>table2</td>
          </tr>
          <tr>
            <td>table3</td>
            <td>t4</td>
          </tr>
        </table>
          <table width="200" border="1">
            <tr>
              <td>t5</td>
            </tr>
          </table>
    <table width="200" border="1">
            <tr>
              <td>Submit</td>
            </tr>
          </table></td>
      </tr>
    </table>

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    Sorry, I forgot to post that I had figured this out, but hopefully the info will help someone else

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles