www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: General Programming Practices

General Programming Practices

When I learned to program in the 1980's, It was in BASIC, and everything was sequential (unless you used goto) and procedural. I don't even think it had functions. Later versions of BASIC at least had GOSUB/RETURN, but still, you were pretty much stuck with this mindset. Add to this that for 10 years or more I did very little programming, and the programming world left me in the dust.

I've been coding in PHP for a few years now. PHP is at it's root a procedural language, but it has some Object capabilities. I am beginning to learn them but my mindset is still procedural. How have you (that's the general "you" as in "you-all") made the mental jump from sequential/procedural mindset to the OOP mindset?

Do you write/use any OO code currently? Are you looking for an OOP tutorial? Or are you looking for some sort of rationale [or something] for using an OOP solution over a purely procedural one?
    Jon Wire

thepointless.com | rounded corner generator

I agree with Apple. Flash is just terrible.

Use CODE tags!

My mindset is this: I know what the keywords do, stop trying to confuse me.

Altair Basic for the 6800?
    If you're loading BASIC from paper tape, be sure your serial I/O is strapped for 8 data bits and no parity bit.
    ... things have changed. Just program in a way that's fun, there is no "best" (esp. not with PHP). If I use objects, it's only because its more fun than not. It processes so fast that no one cares how many extra MB of memory you consumed.

Quote Originally Posted by eval(BadCode) View Post
    My mindset is this: I know what the keywords do, stop trying to confuse me.

Altair Basic for the 6800?

... things have changed. Just program in a way that's fun, there is no "best" (esp. not with PHP). If I use objects, it's only because its more fun than not. It processes so fast that no one cares how many extra MB of memory you consumed.