dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Downloading

Hybrid View

Post Downloading

I was asked by a clent to provide a download page, which of course is rather easy, but what they want is a link for the file, which then asks for an email address to be entered, then the download to commence, im pretty sure Javascript can do this, but i am no JS programmer, any help with this?

Thanks!

That is not only a JavaScript matter. The user might disable JavaScript, thus you should use a server-side application as well. Alone or doubled by a JavaScript similar behavior. It is not intricate, but definitely it is not a job for somebody who is not a javascript programmer nor a client-side language programmer. How can you create web sites if you don't know JavaScript?

I didnt say I didn't know Javascript did I? I said i'm no progeammer, as in i can't just pick up from scratch, I can fix things when they go wrong. I will remove myself from this forum if that is the response i'm likely to get from a question.

I also know that it is something I have to do on a server side, as in PHP, but I was looking for some pointers in the right direction, but looks like that will not be found here.

Quote Originally Posted by BullitMagnet View Post
    I didnt say I didn't know Javascript did I? I said i'm no progeammer, as in i can't just pick up from scratch, I can fix things when they go wrong. I will remove myself from this forum if that is the response i'm likely to get from a question.
    You put a question, you get an answer. If you want a solution to a problem in a programming code, post your code and we will correct it. So: post your code. Post your ideas. But don't post a demand for a solution "on key".
    Quote Originally Posted by BullitMagnet View Post
    I also know that it is something I have to do on a server side, as in PHP, but I was looking for some pointers in the right direction, but looks like that will not be found here.