www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ajax and checkboxes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    92

    ajax and checkboxes

    Ok, I built a messaging system where we can message each other and it also puts system messages into the system.

    now my inbox has like 50 messages and I am trying to work on a way to delete them all with one big swoop.

    I know the code for the checkboxes and I know the code for the button to check all and uncheck all.

    I want to use ajax though and therefore there lies my problem...

    for example:

    <input type="checkbox" name="msg" value="1">
    <input type="checkbox" name="msg" value="2">
    <input type="checkbox" name="msg" value="3">
    <input type="checkbox" name="msg" value="4">
    <input type="checkbox" name="msg" value="5">

    if the user had all those checked I don't think this would work:
    document.getElementsById('msg')[0].value if they had more than one checked, or at all because there are more than one.
    So how do I get the 'list' of all of them to pass as if the form was submitted?

    I would appreciate any help.
    thankz,
    Richard

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Bucharest, ROMANIA
    Posts
    15,428
    First: document.getElementsById('msg') is not a correct reference. Your elements have a name, not an id. And the id must be unique. But document.getElementsByName() will do the job. This method returns a collection.

    Second, you don't have to send all the pairs name=value with AJAX, you may send only one. In fact, I think the best way is to send the values as a JSON object. See, also:
    http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/xm...axintro11.html

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    92
    thank you.

    So, would I just pass it this way:

    'msg',document.getElementsByName('msg').value
    or like this:
    'msg',document.getElementsByName('msg').values

    the second adding a s behind value to mean all of them...
    I think it would be the first since I did not add ('msg')[0] meaning only the first... but again I am not sure.

    Thanks,
    Richard

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    92
    yeah that did not work... I think I have to do something different. I will search this forum I think there is code to do a for statement to loop through each checkbox and get the value of those checked or something...
    thx,
    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    92
    I cannot find anything on it.

    Here is what I do for the radio buttons:

    Code:
    function getRadioValue(name)
    {
    	var found = '';
    	var all =	document.getElementsByTagName('input');
    	for(i=0;i<all.length;i++) {
    		if(all[i].getAttribute('name') == name && all[i].checked) {
    			found = all[i].value;
    			break;
    		}
    	}
    	return found;
    }
    So, isn't there a way to do the same thing with checkboxes but just not have a break in there and it gets a list of all of the checked boxes into an array or something to pass in ajax?

    Thanks,
    Richard

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    92
    found it...

    Code:
    function checkboxValues(name){
        var fs = document.getElementsByName(name);
        var n;
        var values = new Array();
        for (var i = 0; n = fs[i]; i++) {
            if (n.checked == true) {
                values[i]=n.value;
            }
        }
        return values;
    }
    thx,
    Richard

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles