www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: trying to add php variable to url in function

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    11

    trying to add php variable to url in function

    Hi,
    I'm trying to add a php variable to a url in the following function but can't get it to work...

    Code:
    <?php
    $leEcho = "theEcho";
    ?>
    
    <script>
     function popme(element){
                                    var item = "<?= $leEcho?>";
    				box=$.web3Popup({
    					top:0,
    					left:400,
                                            parent:$(".mark"),
    				        html:"Loading...",	
    				        href:"mark.php?myname=document.write(item)",
    					width:400,
                                            height:234,
                                            					
    					
    				       });
                                    }
    </script>
    I've tried different things but can't get past the url being /mark.php&myname=document.write(item)
    when it should be /mark.php&myname=theEcho

    Thanx for your help!!

    Mark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Salem,Ma
    Posts
    623
    Code:
    <?php
    $leEcho = "theEcho";
    ?>
    
    <script>
     function popme(element){
                                    var item = "<?= $leEcho?>";
    				box=$.web3Popup({
    					top:0,
    					left:400,
                                            parent:$(".mark"),
    				        html:"Loading...",	
    				        href:"mark.php?myname="+item,
    					width:400,
                                            height:234,
                                            					
    					
    				       });
                                    }
    </script>

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    11
    Thanx for your quick response!
    Unfortunately it didn't work - the variable's not getting passed into the page that's being pulled into the popup...
    I tried some different variations (I have no idea what I'm doing) but couldn't get it to work...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    83
    Code:
    <?php $leEcho = 'theEcho'; ?>
    
    <script>
    function popme(element) {
                                    
        var item = '<?php echo $leEcho; ?>';
        
        var box = $.web3Popup({ top: 0,
                                left: 400,
                                parent: $('.mark'),
                                html: 'Loading...',    
                                href: 'mark.php?myname=' + item,
                                width: 400,
                                height: 234 });
    }
    </script>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    11
    hmm.... still nothing - thanx though pwinfrey

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    11
    So now I'm trying this and can't get it to work, I must be missing something really big...


    Code:
     function popme2(){
                                    var item2 = '<?php echo $leEcho; ?>';
                                    alert(item2);
                                }
                              window.onload=popme2;
    In the alert box I get "<?php echo $leEcho; ?>"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    83
    Code:
    <?php $leEcho = 'theEcho'; ?>
    
    <script>
    var test = '<?php echo $leEcho; ?>';
    
    alert(test);
    </script>
    See if this allows you to echo the variable set by PHP.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    231
    Hy,
    If the alert box display "<?php echo $leEcho; ?>" , maybe the page not have the .php extension.
    PHP code should be in pages with .php extension.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    83
    Quote Originally Posted by MarPlo View Post
    Hy,
    If the alert box display "<?php echo $leEcho; ?>" , maybe the page not have the .php extension.
    PHP code should be in pages with .php extension.
    Pages don't necessarily have to have a .php extension to run PHP. However, PHP does need to be running on your server. Run <?php echo phpinfo(); ?> to see if it's running.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    11
    It's working but I'm totally baffled now.

    Php is running fine, no probs there, but the file I was working from (very simple php and html, etc) wouldn't let me echo the variable in php.

    So, I created a new file, added all the code, and everything works fine now.
    I have no idea why and too worn out to try and figure it out.

    Thanx a ton for your help!!!!!

    Mark

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    83
    Glad to hear you got it working, whatever it was.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    help!

    I have a similar problem. I want to add a variable at the end of an address. Here is the address I have.

    <img src="http://dropship.bluedial.com/instockimage.pl?code=XXXXXX">

    Where XXXXXX is the variable I want to change. The variable is PRODUCT_SKU used earlier as listed below.

    Component addToCart = product.getAddToCartComponent(inResponse, Product.PRODUCT_SKU, Product.PRODUCT_WEIGHT, Product.PRODUCT_VARIATIONS, Product.PRODUCT_PRICE, Product.PRODUCT_QTY, Product.PRODUCT_ADDTOCART);

    I can post the rest of the code if it helps. I know I have to define the variable, but I'm not sure how. All my programming background in C years ago, so I am a little lost. Any help would be deeply appreciated.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center

"

"

X vBulletin 4.2.2 Debug Information

  • Page Generation 0.14712 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,972KB
  • Queries Executed 15 (?)
More Information
Template Usage (34):
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_global_above_footer
  • (1)ad_global_below_navbar
  • (1)ad_global_header1
  • (1)ad_global_header2
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)ad_thread_first_post_content
  • (1)ad_thread_last_post_content
  • (5)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)headinclude_bottom
  • (12)memberaction_dropdown
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (1)navbar_moderation
  • (1)navbar_noticebit
  • (1)navbar_tabs
  • (2)option
  • (12)postbit
  • (12)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (12)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available (6):
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files (26):
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/class_bootstrap.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_navigation.php
  • ./includes/class_friendly_url.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/class_bootstrap_framework.php
  • ./vb/vb.php
  • ./vb/phrase.php
  • ./includes/functions_facebook.php
  • ./includes/functions_calendar.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_notice.php
  • ./packages/vbattach/attach.php
  • ./vb/types.php
  • ./vb/cache.php
  • ./vb/cache/db.php
  • ./vb/cache/observer/db.php
  • ./vb/cache/observer.php 

Hooks Called (70):
  • init_startup
  • friendlyurl_resolve_class
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • database_pre_fetch_array
  • database_post_fetch_array
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • global_bootstrap_init_start
  • global_bootstrap_init_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • load_show_variables
  • load_forum_show_variables
  • global_state_check
  • global_bootstrap_complete
  • global_start
  • style_fetch
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • strip_bbcode
  • friendlyurl_clean_fragment
  • friendlyurl_geturl
  • forumjump
  • cache_templates
  • cache_templates_process
  • template_register_var
  • template_render_output
  • fetch_template_start
  • fetch_template_complete
  • parse_templates
  • fetch_musername
  • notices_check_start
  • notices_noticebit
  • process_templates_complete
  • friendlyurl_redirect_canonical
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • memberaction_dropdown
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • build_navigation_data
  • build_navigation_array
  • check_navigation_permission
  • process_navigation_links_start
  • process_navigation_links_complete
  • set_navigation_menu_element
  • build_navigation_menudata
  • build_navigation_listdata
  • build_navigation_list
  • set_navigation_tab_main
  • set_navigation_tab_fallback
  • navigation_tab_complete
  • fb_like_button
  • showthread_complete
  • page_templates