www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to create ActiveX object of updated Internet Explorer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    37

    How to create ActiveX object of updated Internet Explorer

    Hi,

    I have a VB script code which creates an activex object for internet explorer.

    Code:
    Set IE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
    IE.visible = true
    IE.navigate "http://www.google.com"
    This code creates a browser object of IE6, then loads the given url

    I was using this code from long time on IE6 and it is working fine.
    However I recently updated my IE6 to IE8 browser from then I am facing an issue.

    It is creating the browser obect of IE6, then loads the given url in a new tab of IE8.

    Note: when I open help->About of the browser opened by my script IE version of the browser is showing as IE8 however it is looking like IE6.

    So how to create the browser object of the latest IE?

    Please suggest!!

    Thanks!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    37
    i am trying to do some thing with filesystemobject and it doesnt work in pocket internet explorer although it works well in desktop internet explorer.
    Actually, the filesystem gets managed differently in a pocket pc and desktop pc.

    File system management is completely managed by OS, if the filesystem activex object is not supported by OS then script will not get an object.

    I suppose your pocket pc is not supporting the filesystem activex object. I mean, filesystem object was not a registered COM object in your pocket pc.
    ---------------------

    Any one knows how to resolve the IE object issue with the upgraded browser.

    Please suggest.

    Thanks!
    Last edited by krieya; 05-18-2011 at 07:27 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    452
    It works correctly for me... every time it opens a new window in IE8. maybe the problem with your installation.. try reinstalling IE

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    37
    Yes It seems, my browser was not upgraded properly..... i have to reinstall.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    37
    After creating my windows user profile again. Its working fine.

    Still not sure of whats the problem.

    Thanks!!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles