www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: After HTML and CSS...where to next??

Question After HTML and CSS...where to next??

I have just finished a great book on learning HTML and CSS, but has left me with a lot of questions.

The main one being, logically where to go next? I'm trying to start a web development project (I have another person to take care of design) but can't get a good answer on what I will actually need to know!

If I go through a web hosting company to host my site does that take care of the whole server-side of things? Should I learn PHP, MySQL, anything else?? I'm just a complete rookie and need some guidance here.

Thanks for any help people x

What do you want to do?

You can email me "myusername"@gmail.com
    Natdrip :P
    "water go down the hole" - plucky duck

The main one being, logically where to go next?
    Simple. Just learn how to have menus, headers, footers, etc. loaded automatically with PHP includes, via http://www.w3schools.com/php/php_includes.asp. Then start making sites for family and friends, as learning projects. The only thing you have to keep in mind is that you choose web servers with PHP running.

An HTML code editor that has a built-in PHP server is WeBuilder, http://www.blumentals.net/webuilder/. You need to have a PHP server on your machine, otherwise you cannot test locally.
    How to: Target IE in, Position in, Center in, Create a Fixed ('Sticky') Footer with, and Create a Drop-Down/Fly-Out Menu with CSS: Website Laten Maken Amsterdam.

Javascript (not jQuery, but actual Javascript). You will also need to know PHP and a general understanding of MySQL (or some other database) helps as well.

Don't get me wrong, jQuery is the bomb, but if you learn jQuery, then you won't know how to use Javascript when jQuery isn't available or when you're required/requested to use a different Javascript library.
    I've switched careers...
    I'm NO LONGER a scientist,
    but now a web developer...
    awesome.