www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: New to HTML and CSS

New to HTML and CSS

Hi,
    I am new to html and css and currently learning using Head first HTML with CSS and XHTML to study.

This book so far is a great book but i am having trouble with one of the examples that they have given. I have gone over this about 10 times and cant see anything wrong with the code but my page just wont change background colour. I am using IE8 and below is the code if someone can tell me waht i am doing wrong.
    Code:
    <html>
    <head>
    	<title> Starbuzz Coffee </title>

<style type="text/css">
    		body {
    			background-colour: yellow;
    			margin-left: 20&#37;;
    			margin-right: 20%;
    			border: 1px dotted gray;
    			padding: 10px 10px 10px 10px;
    			font-family: sans-serif;
    		}

</style>
    </head>

<body>

<h1> Starbuzz Coffee Beverages </h1>

<h2> House Blend, $1.49 </h2>
    	<p>
    		A smooth, mild blend of coffees from Mexico, Bolivia and Guatemala.
    	</p>

<h2> Mocha Cafe Latte, $2.35 </h2>
    	<p>
    		Espresso, steamed milk and chocolate syrup.
    	</p>

<h2> Cappucinno, $1.89 </h2>
    	<p>
    		A mixture of espresso, steamed milk and foam.
    	</p>

<h2> Chai Tea, $1.85 </h2>
    	<p>
    		A spicy drink made with black tea, spices, milk and honey.
    	</p>

</body>
    <html>
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jase.
    Last edited by Kor; 11-24-2011 at 07:49 AM. Reason: wrap the code [code][/code]

it is:

background-color

not
    background-colour

You must be one of Her Majesty's subject, I presume Unfortunately, at least for you, in almost all the programming languages it is used the American spelling, not the British one.
    Same with grey(British)/gray(American), centre(British)/center(American), metre(in British English is the unit)/meter(in British E. is the device for measuring, while in American E. means both the unit and the device)

And so on...
    Last edited by Kor; 11-24-2011 at 08:13 AM.