www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: [RESOLVED] Checking if text box is empty?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7

    resolved [RESOLVED] Checking if text box is empty?

    How would I create a function that can check if the text box named "title" was empty (form name is form) and of it was it a message would become visible above the text box? I want the function to be called when the user hits the submit button for the form.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,350

    Arrow Consider this.

    In your submit button validation:
    PHP Code:
    if (document.getElementById('title').value == '') {
      
    alert('Empty textbox'); 
      return 
    false;  // stop submission until textbox is not ''


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7
    I don't mean that I want it to show text on the web page above the text box.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,350

    Question Confused

    Let me get this straight this time ...
    You want to show empty text above a text box display when the text box is empty?

    Do you have a picture or starting script to view?
    Perhaps re-state your original request differently.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    27
    Almost sounds like:

    Code:
    Customer Name
     --------------------------
    |                          |
     --------------------------
    With the above poorly done ASCII art being the text box

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,350
    If post #5 is desired, use <legend> tag </legend>

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7
    Better explained:

    When a user loads my page there is a contact form and they have to fill in all text boxes. If they click submit and a text box is empty above the text box new text will appear telling the user that they forget to fill in that text box.

    Heres the code I'm currently using:-

    Code:
    <script language="javascript">
      function DoSubmit ()
      {
    
        if (document.form.ticket.value == "") {
          alert ("Enter your support ticket!");
          document.form.ticket.focus ();
          return "";
        }
    
        document.form.submit ();
      }
    </script>
    
    Please enter your support ticket.<Br><Br>
    
    <form method="post" action="viewticket.php" name="form">
    
    <input type="text" name="ticket" size="20" maxlength="10"><BR>
    
    <input type="hidden" name="mode" value="submit">
    <input type="button" onclick="DoSubmit ()" value="Check Status">
    
    <BR><BR>
    I don't want it to be an alert box.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,160
    Try this....
    The error is not above, but you can place the <span> tag where ever you want
    Code:
    <html>
    <head>
    
    <title>Untitled Document</title>
    <style>
    .errors
    {
    	color:#FF0000;
    }
    
    </style>
    
    
    </head>
    
    <body>
    
    <script>
    
    function Validate()
    {
    	var title = document.getElementById('title').value;
    	var titleError = document.getElementById('titleError');
    	if (title == '')
    	{
    		
    		titleError.innerHTML = "ERROR!!!";
    	}
    	else
    	{
    		titleError.innerHTML = "";
    	}
    }
    
    
    </script>
    
    
    <input type="text" id="title"><span id="titleError" class="errors"></span>
    <br>
    <input type="button" value="Click Me" onClick="Validate()">
    </body>
    </html>
    Drew

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thanks cgishack

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,350

    Why not ...

    To get above box, why not:
    PHP Code:
    <span id="titleError" class="errors"></span><br />
    <
    input type="text" id="title"
    or even use a <div> tag instead of <span>

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    231
    I think <DIV> goes to next line. Whereas SPAN stays same line.

    I may be wrong!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,160
    Here is a sample
    Code:
    <html>
    <head>
    
    <title>Untitled Document</title>
    </head>
    <body>
    <br />
    
    <div id="A_Display" onmouseover="this.childNodes[1].innerHTML = 'Apple';" onmouseout="this.childNodes[1].innerHTML = '';">
      <div id="childOf_A_Display"> </div>
      <LABEL>
      <INPUT id="ITEM15_0"  type="checkbox" value="A" name="Fruit"  checked ="1">
      A </LABEL>
    </div>
    </body>
    </html>
    i am sure you can work with it to fit your needs.

    Drew

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles