www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Database on local and hosted machines

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Surprise, AZ
    Posts
    119

    Database on local and hosted machines

    Sorry, I am assuming that this is answered somewhere on here (or in Internetland) already, but I cannot seem to find the answer to my problem (and I am not sure if this belongs under .ASP or ...).

    Situation:
    Access file (database) and site hosted on local (business) server
    Copy of the same Access file (and site with alterations) hosted on external server

    Problem:
    How can I updated both at the same time

    I realize I can just copy my .mdb file to from localsite to hostedsite, but the upload tends to take about 120 seconds, and the downtime is unacceptable.

    All I want is to update both files at the same time, or mirror them. Basically I could get this complete to my satisfaction (non-mirrored) if I knew how to use DATA SOURCE="http://somewebsite.com/folder/file.mdb", but I cannot seem to make that work ...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,227

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Surprise, AZ
    Posts
    119

    resolved Thanks

    Looks like that would be the solution if my hosting company supported it... thank you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,227
    What is not supported? Do they have the ports closed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Surprise, AZ
    Posts
    119
    This was the response I got from them when I was unable to locate any RDS information:
    This would not work on a shared hosting environment.

    I would request you to kindly check the same and let us know incase you have any other queries.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,227
    You would need to share the question you asked of them. I can connect remotely to any db from any environment as long as it supported ASP.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Surprise, AZ
    Posts
    119
    My bad, here's what I asked them:
    I was looking to find out how to change RDS (MS Remote) settings. I have a website that is hosted locally that I want to update (the Access file) on the network simultaneously, and this is the only way that I am seeing to do this. When I attempted to do so, I received:

    Microsoft ADO/RDS error '80072f78'
    Internet Client Error: Invalid Server Response.

    As this is a new concept to me, perhaps I have something miscoded on my end, but I do not want to bang my head against the wall if this is something that is not supported. Please advise.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,227
    You need to read the link I sent you and find a DSN-less connection.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Surprise, AZ
    Posts
    119
    Ummm ... I read the link (and about 3 hours worth of other pages on the subject), and guess how far I got. Ergh. What am I missing?
    Code:
    prov		= "Provider=MS Remote;Remote Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0; "
    'Option A
    'dsrc		= "Remote Server=http://WEBSITE.com/;Data Source=D:\httpdocs\FOLDER\DB.mdb;"
    'Option B
    'dsrc		= "Remote Server=http://WEBSITE.com/;Data Source=ODBCName;uid=USER;Pwd=PASSWORD;"
    
    Set con	= CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
    
    con.Open prov & dsrc
    I have attempted a number of other solutions, but have not received anything better than an error message. Any ideas? (I have failed at this on my own long enough.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles