www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: noob needs help with chessboard

noob needs help with chessboard

Hi, i am a newb trying to learn how to make websites and i'm having troubles with a chess board i'm trying to make.
    The point is that i want to be able to create lessons with it for children, as in make a specific setup and have one (or more, if possible)
    specific move(s) give a different result (like a popup-box or something) then a wrong move. I copied a drag and drop chessboard from the inet
    which i got figured out. But don't know how to create a "good move" and a "bad move". Here is some of the code:

<head>
    <style type="text/css">
    #chess_board { border:5px solid #333; }
    #chess_board td {
    background:#fff;

height:50px;
    text-align:center;
    vertical-align:middle;
    width:50px;

}
    #chess_board tr:nth-child(odd) td:nth-child(even),
    #chess_board tr:nth-child(even) td:nth-child(odd) {
    background:#ccc;
    }
    </style>

<script type="text/javascript">

function allowDrop(ev)
    {
    ev.preventDefault();
    }

function drag(ev)
    {
    ev.dataTransfer.setData("Text",ev.target.id);
    }

function drop(ev)
    {
    var data=ev.dataTransfer.getData("Text");
    ev.target.appendChild(document.getElementById(data));
    ev.preventDefault();
    }

</script>

</head>

<body>

table id="chess_board" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">

<tr>

<td ondrop="drop(event)"ondragover="allowDrop(event)" id="A8"><div class="piece" draggable="true" ondragstart="drag(event)" id="dragA8">♜</div ></td>

this is only the first field this goes on with b8 c8 etc... </tr> <tr> a7 b7 etc...

as u can see i am using html5 drag and drop for the piece-moving and a table to create the field, is it possible to create a if...else statement inside the drop functon
    to make only a specific piece able to accually be dropped (but maintain the ability to drag the other pieces)