www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Beginner in Java, need help with homework

Hybrid View

Beginner in Java, need help with homework

Hi guys, I'm a newbie to this forum and to programming in general. My assignment is to instantiate three separate household objects and then use get and set methods to change the occupants and income, then have the program print out the number of occupants in each house and the income. So far I've got the Household class working but when I try to use it as a method in TestHousehold, I get the error messages "non-static method cannot be referenced from a static context." This is a beginning class and I'm supposed to keep the code as simple and straightforward as possible.

Here's what I have so far, both classes:

public class Household
    {
    private int Occupants;
    private double Income;

Household()
    {
    Occupants = 1;
    Income = 0.0;
    }

Household(int Occ)
    {
    Occupants = Occ;
    Income = 0.0;
    }

Household(double Inc)
    {
    Occupants = 1;
    Income = Inc;
    }

public int getOccupants()
    {
    return Occupants;
    }

public void setOccupants(int Occ)
    {
    Occupants = Occ;
    }

public double getIncome()
    {
    return Income;
    }

public void setIncome(double Inc)
    {
    Income = Inc;
    }
    }

public class TestHousehold
    {
    public static void main(String[] args)
    {
    Household House1 = new Household();
    Household House2 = new Household();
    Household House3 = new Household();

System.out.println("The house before using the set methods has " +

Household.getOccupants() + " occupants and an income of " + Household.getIncome());

House1.setOccupants(3);
    House2.setOccupants(2);
    House3.setOccupants(7);

House1.setIncome(55000.00);
    House2.setIncome(0.00);
    House3.setIncome(80000.00);

System.out.println("The first household has " + Household.getOccupants() + " occupants

" + "and the second household has " + Household.getOccupants() + " occupants.");

}
    }