www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Including a PHP file

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    42

    Including a PHP file

    Hi all,

    I'm including a menu.php in my page to try and save time doing edits further down the line.

    It seems to be working though the menu that I include has a thick line under it that's the same colour as the menu background.

    Can anyone tell me what's causing this please, I can't find the fault anywhere.

    http://adamsrenovations.co.uk/

    Or maybe I shouldn't be 'including' stuff in my CSS?

    Thanks,

    Andy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,904
    Your div #menubar has non html stuff in it, like meta tags, <link tags, etc. You can't put that in the middle of html code, it needs to be in the <head> section.

    Dave

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,632
    You also have multiple <html> tags and nested <body> tags. Start with valid code first.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    87
    what is the code inside your include file?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    42
    Thanks for the replies.

    I've stripped out the other stuff from the menu.php file so that it is now just:

    <div id="menu">
    <div class="navtext"><a href="index.php">Home</a></div>
    <div class="navtext"><a href="micro.php">Services</a></div>
    <div class="navtext"><a href="testimonials.php">Testimonials</a></div>
    <div class="navtext"><a href="contact.php">Contact Us</a> 2 </div>
    </div>

    I've also put the link to the menu CSS in the index.php.

    Trouble is, I've still got the problem? Any other ideas?

    Thanks,

    Andy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    61
    not understanding the problem explain please?
    Thanks,
    Som
    Full2pune

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,632
    Quote Originally Posted by barbeluk1 View Post
    <div id="menu">
    <div class="navtext"><a href="index.php">Home</a></div>
    <div class="navtext"><a href="micro.php">Services</a></div>
    <div class="navtext"><a href="testimonials.php">Testimonials</a></div>
    <div class="navtext"><a href="contact.php">Contact Us</a> 2 </div>
    </div>
    Should be

    Code:
    <ul id="menu">
        <li><a href="index.php">Home</a></li>
        <li><a href="micro.php">Services</a></li>
        <li><a href="testimonials.php">Testimonials</a></li>
        <li><a href="contact.php">Contact</a></li>
    </ul>
    I'll take a look at the CSS aspect when I get home.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,904
    The only "thick line" I see is the #menu div itself, which is 40px tall in your css. Is that the line you're referring to?

    Dave

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    42
    Hi there,

    Thanks for the replies. I've taken the min height out of the menu div and this has sorted the problem. I was assuming that the php menu would go inside the menu div but it seems to include the menu then add the menu div below it, which is why I was getting the 40px high bar blue bar below the menu.

    Thanks again,

    Andy

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles