dcsimg
www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: UI development

Hybrid View

Question UI development

Hi,
    I am going to create one project but little bit confused, As i am new in UI dev.
    and wanna to know which one method would be good?
    1. First create html and implement js on the html content.
    2. Create all html content using js like input,div,span,lable, textarea etc.
    Please help me to find the correct process to develop UI.

both are fine. if you need something to show up in browsers without javascript, use and html base. if you don't need that, it might be easier to do it all in js; those patterns are often more reusable than "upgrading" html.

But if i develop using js(second method) so code length increases, And project size will be more than normal html project(first method).
    So would it affect the Load time of website.

Quote Originally Posted by maxterner View Post
    But if i develop using js(second method) so code length increases, And project size will be more than normal html project(first method).
    So would it affect the Load time of website.
    if you generate the interface with js, you shouldn't need to ever re-load the page. that means that even if it takes a bit longer the first time, each additional "page" is instant. so it seems faster.

js should not take any longer than html to transfer. even if it's twice the size, it will transfer in about the same amount of time. unless you're talking hundreds of thousands of elements, it's all quick.

Use a templating system or at least a dom library to generate your html. DON'T use document.createElement("span") 50,000,000 time in a row; that is bloated and wasteful...

if you do it right, you can actually save a lot of bandwidth using js instead of html; it all depends on how you code it.

Quote Originally Posted by rnd me View Post