www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Why can't I accesss a site I know exists?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    196

    Why can't I accesss a site I know exists?

    I don't know where to ask this question but as this site has served me brilliantly in the past, I thought I would try here.

    I am trying to access a site which I know exists as I can access it from other computers. The site's address is

    ci-edwardians.co.uk

    I run a sister site which relies on a style sheet situated on the above site, but as my computer cannot access it then the sister site is incorrectly formatted. The sister site is

    sec50.net84.net

    Has anybody got any suggestions on this, or can point me to an appropriate forum?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,886
    Do you have permission to link the style sheet from the Edwardian folks? I know that if I found someone hotlinking to my style sheets, images, etc, without my permission, I'd block them. Perhaps that's what they did?

    Dave

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    196
    A good sugestion, but I don't think it is so in this case. We developed both sites together.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,120
    I didn't have any issues adding the sheet to your site from the console:
    PHP Code:
    var css document.createElement('style');
    css.innerHTML "@import url('http://ci-edwardians.co.uk/CDStyleCI.css')";
    document.body.appendChild(css); 
    And the HTTP log showed this request, which return the expected stylesheet:
    Code:
    GET /CDStyleCI.css HTTP/1.1
    Host: ci-edwardians.co.uk
    Connection: keep-alive
    User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_6_8) AppleWebKit/536.5 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/19.0.1084.46 Safari/536.5
    Accept: text/css,*/*;q=0.1
    Referer: http://sec50.net84.net/
    Accept-Encoding: gzip,deflate,sdch
    Accept-Language: en-US,en;q=0.8
    Accept-Charset: ISO-8859-1,utf-8;q=0.7,*;q=0.3
    Cookie: /* snip! */
    I'm guessing the site was either experiencing difficulties at the time, the stylesheet was moved, or you linked it wrong.
    Jon Wire

    thepointless.com | rounded corner generator

    I agree with Apple. Flash is just terrible.

    Use CODE tags!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,120
    Though, I'm now curious as to whether I've misunderstood the issue.

    Are you currently unable to see ci-edwardians.co.uk at all from your computer?
    Jon Wire

    thepointless.com | rounded corner generator

    I agree with Apple. Flash is just terrible.

    Use CODE tags!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    196

    Thumbs up

    To clarify:

    I cannot access the site ci-edwardians.co.uk from my computer although others can (from their computers), something which is confirmed by responders here.

    This inability for my computer to be denied access extends to any cite which depends on the style sheet residing on ci-edwardians. Access to these other cites is not denied but the formatting is deficient. I can solve this formatting by puttting a copy of the style sheet on my site and referring directly to this. there is no problem with access to other sites.

    The host has suggested (as has Dave) that my IP is blocked. could we have done this inadvertantly? How can I tell if this has happened. The other webmaster is as mystified as I am.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,886
    Presuming the server is running Apache, you could be blocked in either the main Apache configuration (controlled by Edwardian's hosting service) or a file called .htaccess in the Edwardian's top level directory. So the latter can be checked by your friend, but the former needs to be checked by the support folks for the web host.

    The Deny could look like:
    Deny from 1.2.3.4
    Deny from sec50.net84.net

    Dave

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    18,921
    Does the computer in question connect via a proxy server somewhere in the route from computer to web site? (They might be blocking that proxy server or proxies in general.)
    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

    eBookworm.us

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,120
    DNS could also be an issue. Make sure you didn't write an override in your host file that you've forgotten about. And ensure that you see the correct IP addresses at the command line. NS issues can be transient and difficult to detect.

    Code:
    > host ci-edwardians.co.uk
    ci-edwardians.co.uk has address 31.170.162.247
    ci-edwardians.co.uk mail is handled by 0 aspmx.l.google.com.
    If you're on a window machine, the command is nslookup in place of host.
    Jon Wire

    thepointless.com | rounded corner generator

    I agree with Apple. Flash is just terrible.

    Use CODE tags!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles