www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: insert current dollar.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    7

    Exclamation insert current dollar.

    Hi i need some help inserting current dollar into a calculating form.
    here i get the current dollar:http://www.bcb.gob.bo/rss_bcb.php

    But i dont know how to put this on a field in javascript so that i can use it.
    the form is:
    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE>Simple Adder</TITLE>

    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
    function CalculateSum(Atext, Btext, form)
    {
    var A = parseFloat(Atext);
    var B = parseFloat(Btext);
    form.Answer.value = A + B;
    }

    function ClearForm(form)
    {
    form.input_A.value = "";
    form.input_B.value = "";
    form.Answer.value = "";
    }

    // end of JavaScript functions -->
    </SCRIPT>
    </HEAD>

    <BODY>

    <P><FONT SIZE="+2">Simple Adder</FONT></P>

    <FORM NAME="Calculator" METHOD="post">
    <P>Enter a number: <INPUT TYPE=TEXT NAME="input_A" SIZE=10></P>
    <P>Enter a number: <INPUT TYPE=TEXT NAME="input_B" SIZE=10></P>
    <P><INPUT TYPE="button" VALUE="Add Numbers" name="AddButton" onClick="CalculateSum(this.form.input_A.value, this.form.input_B.value, this.form)"></P>
    <P><INPUT TYPE="button" VALUE="Clear Fields" name="ClearButton" onClick="ClearForm(this.form)"></P>
    <P>Answer = <INPUT TYPE=TEXT NAME="Answer" SIZE=12></P>
    </FORM>

    </BODY>
    </HTML>

    And i would like to put the value in field b.
    please help me whit some ideas

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,330
    What is the problem?
    Please explain here as I don't normally subscribe to RSS feeds to find the question.

    What value do you wish to put into field b? (assumed to be "input_B" ?)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    7

    insert current dollar

    Quote Originally Posted by JMRKER View Post
    What is the problem?
    Please explain here as I don't normally subscribe to RSS feeds to find the question.

    What value do you wish to put into field b? (assumed to be "input_B" ?)
    I want that the current dollar of today will automatically inserted in input_B and i want it from the rrs. i mentioned

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Versailles, France
    Posts
    1,264
    There is not only a javascript question. See this page for the BCE (with a tab for developpers) an or the equivalent with your bank and build a better convertisseur-calculator like this one (which use the Reverse Polish notation with the keyPad).
    Last edited by 007Julien; 05-28-2012 at 05:23 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,029
    you can use something like the below. I didn't know if you wanted to use the compra or venta price - you can change that in the regex inside the get_price function

    Code:
    <html>
      <head>
      </head>
      <body>
    
    
    <P><FONT SIZE="+2">Simple Adder</FONT></P>
    
    <FORM NAME="Calculator" METHOD="post">
    <P>Enter a number: <INPUT TYPE=TEXT NAME="input_A" SIZE=10></P>
    <P>Enter a number: <INPUT TYPE=TEXT NAME="input_B" SIZE=10></P>
    <P><INPUT TYPE="button" VALUE="Add Numbers" name="AddButton" onClick="CalculateSum(this.form.input_A.value, this.form.input_B.value, this.form)"></P>
    <P><INPUT TYPE="button" VALUE="Clear Fields" name="ClearButton" onClick="ClearForm(this.form)"></P>
    <P>Answer = <INPUT TYPE=TEXT NAME="Answer" SIZE=12></P>
    </FORM>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    function get_price(o){
          var price = o.query.results.item[0].title.replace(/.*Bs([^]*)compra.*/,'$1').replace(",",".");
          document.Calculator.input_B.value = price;  
        }
    	
    function CalculateSum(Atext, Btext, form)
    {
    var A = parseFloat(Atext);
    var B = parseFloat(Btext);
    form.Answer.value = A + B;
    }
    
    function ClearForm(form)
    {
    form.input_A.value = "";
    form.input_B.value = "";
    form.Answer.value = "";
    }
    
    // end of JavaScript functions -->
    </script>
     <script src='http://query.yahooapis.com/v1/public/yql?q=select&#37;20*%20from%20rss%20where%20url%3D%22http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bcb.gob.bo%2Frss_bcb.php%2F%22&format=json&callback=get_price'>
      </script>
      </body>
    </html>
    Last edited by xelawho; 05-28-2012 at 07:16 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,029
    oops - IE didn't like that regex, and I've been playing around with the uri encoding to make it more human-friendly. try this one:

    Code:
    <html>
      <head>
      </head>
      <body>
    
    
    <P><FONT SIZE="+2">Simple Adder</FONT></P>
    
    <FORM NAME="Calculator" METHOD="post">
    <P>Enter a number: <INPUT TYPE=TEXT NAME="input_A" SIZE=10></P>
    <P>Enter a number: <INPUT TYPE=TEXT NAME="input_B" SIZE=10></P>
    <P><INPUT TYPE="button" VALUE="Add Numbers" name="AddButton" onClick="CalculateSum(this.form.input_A.value, this.form.input_B.value, this.form)"></P>
    <P><INPUT TYPE="button" VALUE="Clear Fields" name="ClearButton" onClick="ClearForm(this.form)"></P>
    <P>Answer = <INPUT TYPE=TEXT NAME="Answer" SIZE=12></P>
    </FORM>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    function get_price(o){
          var price = o.query.results.item[0].title.replace(/.*Bs([^*]*)compra.*/,'$1').replace(",",".");
          document.Calculator.input_B.value = price;  
        }
    	
    function CalculateSum(Atext, Btext, form)
    {
    var A = parseFloat(Atext);
    var B = parseFloat(Btext);
    form.Answer.value = A + B;
    }
    
    function ClearForm(form)
    {
    form.input_A.value = "";
    form.input_B.value = "";
    form.Answer.value = "";
    }
    
    var myurl=encodeURIComponent("http://www.bcb.gob.bo/rss_bcb.php")
    
    scr=document.createElement("script");
    scr.type="text/javascript"
    scr.src='http://query.yahooapis.com/v1/public/yql?q=select%20*%20from%20rss%20where%20url%3D%22'+myurl+'%2F%22&format=json&callback=get_price';
    document.body.appendChild(scr);
    
    </script>
    
    
      </body>
    </html>

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    7

    current dollar

    My friend you are the king of the kings i appreciate very much your help, i have a little problem dock it shows me text: Tipo de cambio Bs por 1 Dolar USA
    and not the numbers of the venta field have you any solution?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,029
    oh, yeah - it looks like they changed their title field format a safer way to do it is using the description field. if you want the venta price, you can change that line to this:
    Code:
    var price = o.query.results.item[0].description.replace(/.* Bs([^*]*);.*/,'$1').replace(",",".");

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    7

    Smile current dollar

    thank you very much for the help!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles