www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: SQLEXPRESS SA default password

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Discworld
    Posts
    75

    Angry SQLEXPRESS SA default password

    Hey guys,
    just for fun I run installation of SQLEXPRESS.
    To my surprise it went relatively painless. I can connect to it but only with windows authentication.
    Does anyone know what default password for SA is, since it did not asked me to provide one during installation....

    Please consider the
    environment before printing

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    19,176
    Maybe no password?
    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

    eBookworm.us

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Discworld
    Posts
    75
    nope.
    As far as I know Microsoft fixed that bug back in 2005. You can not use blank as password unless you unchecked couple boxes in settings.

    Please consider the
    environment before printing

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,120
    I think you can just change it. Log in (using windows auth), expand Security / Logins, right click the sa user, and just enter a new password.
    Jon Wire

    thepointless.com | rounded corner generator

    I agree with Apple. Flash is just terrible.

    Use CODE tags!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,120
    That said, you shouldn't ever need to use the sa account. You should really just create an account for each or application or "function" that needs access. OR, if all the apps run locally, use Trusted_Connection=True; in the connection string and give the appropriate privileges the account (the IIS user, for instance) that runs the application.
    Jon Wire

    thepointless.com | rounded corner generator

    I agree with Apple. Flash is just terrible.

    Use CODE tags!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Discworld
    Posts
    75
    Stickman,
    do you think I would post question here if SQLEXPRESS allowed me to just change password or even create new user?
    Eat some meat to calm your anger...

    That is the reason why I want to connect to it as SA. So I could create new user and go on from there.
    Basically right now I have database where I can not do anything but just to connect to it using windows authentication and that is it. Read only access.
    Last edited by alexsts; 06-08-2012 at 01:52 PM.

    Please consider the
    environment before printing

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,120
    Quote Originally Posted by alexsts View Post
    Stickman,
    do you think I would post question here if SQLEXPRESS allowed me to just change password or even create new user?
    Eat some meat to calm your anger...

    That is the reason why I want to connect to it as SA. So I could create new user and go on from there.
    Yes, that's precisely how you attract help in a forum ...

    All I can say then is, you're doing it wrong. Good luck.
    Jon Wire

    thepointless.com | rounded corner generator

    I agree with Apple. Flash is just terrible.

    Use CODE tags!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,120
    Damn my better nature ...

    http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/For...-4ee4dd5df482/

    This little security issue is generally avoided during installation, at which point windows auth should have been selected as the authentication mode, and at which point your user would have been granted full administrative access to to instance. In the even that you don't have admin access, the more appropriate question is really, "why don't i have admin access to my sql server instance?"

    And to that I say, reinstall the software, and pay close attention to your initial configuration options. Use windows auth. And be sure to add your user as an admin when/if prompted to do so.
    Jon Wire

    thepointless.com | rounded corner generator

    I agree with Apple. Flash is just terrible.

    Use CODE tags!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Discworld
    Posts
    75
    That what was my choice during installation of the package.
    SQL Express is a part of that package and I cannot remove it.
    For me it is just a matter of curiosity about next Microsoft screw ups rather than necessity since I am using full version of SQL for all my projects...
    So, does anyone knows what is default SA password for SQLEXPRESS 2008

    Please consider the
    environment before printing

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,120
    If you read the link, the prevalent belief is there, if you choose windows auth, the SA account isn't even enabled. If I recall, the one time I installed it w/ SQL auth, I was prompted to pick the SA password.

    This isn't the M$ screwup you think it is. It's user error.

    And I find this hard, if not impossible, to believe:
    SQL Express is a part of that package and I cannot remove it.
    You should always have the option to remove it from the add/remove software pane in the control panel. If it's not there, you don't even have the software installed. If it was part of another software packed, it's likely that have the embedded version installed.
    Jon Wire

    thepointless.com | rounded corner generator

    I agree with Apple. Flash is just terrible.

    Use CODE tags!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Discworld
    Posts
    75
    and all suggestions how to change SA password fail right here:
    1. Go to SQL Server Properties/Security tab and change the mode to SQL Server authentication mode

    Produces error message: access denied; User not authorized to perform this action.

    Please consider the
    environment before printing

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Discworld
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by svidgen View Post
    .. the prevalent belief is ...
    That is all what it is and it is not always based on actual software behavior.
    And by the way if you did not notice original question was about SQLEXPRESS but most of the posting refer to straight SQL 2008 (R2) which is not exactly the same. Yes both using same engine but functionality and some of the other characteristics completely different.


    Package also build by Ms, if I remove one it automatically kills entire package. I tried more than once already.
    And on 3 different systems to make sure that I did not missed option to enable SA account.
    So problem is not between chair and keyboard.
    Last edited by alexsts; 06-08-2012 at 02:55 PM.

    Please consider the
    environment before printing

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,120
    Whelp. If I have time outside the office, I'll re-run the installation so I have concrete steps to give you. Maybe someone who has them committed to memory can chime in meanwhile ...
    Jon Wire

    thepointless.com | rounded corner generator

    I agree with Apple. Flash is just terrible.

    Use CODE tags!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,120
    Quote Originally Posted by alexsts View Post
    And by the way if you did not notice original question was about SQLEXPRESS but most of the posting refer to straight SQL 2008 (R2) which is not exactly the same.
    The thread I linked pertained to "SQL Server 2008 R2 Express."

    ADDENDUM: And it should be noted, the only significant differences between the Express and edition and the "normal" editions are arbitrary memory, disk, and CPU core limitation. Just about everything else should function identically.
    Jon Wire

    thepointless.com | rounded corner generator

    I agree with Apple. Flash is just terrible.

    Use CODE tags!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Discworld
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by svidgen View Post
    ... should function identically.
    Once again should off, would off, could off but in reality is not.
    Thanks for your time and efforts.
    See you in cyberspace.

    Please consider the
    environment before printing

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles