www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: HTML table

HTML table

hey guys,
    i have a PHP function that reads a file into a resulting array. i then need to use the rows in the PHP array to populate an HTML table. the problem is that the rows are a mixture of single elements (header lines) and rows of 5 elements (table columns). i need the single element rows to span across the 5columns where the tabbed data is below. all the data rows (with 5 elements) have a "+" sign in them, meaning that i can test for pos of + sign to determine whether the row is one header or 5 <TD>s. any pointers? i am thinking that JS is the way to go but i am new to that.

thanks in advance,

alan

For my clarification, could you supply the text (?) from the PHP or the resulting array (?)

Just the heading and a few of the row lines as an example.

data

FANTASY FOOTBALL LEAGUE ,
    TIES LOSE TIES LOSE TIES LOSE ,
    COL SAT OCT 8 2011 ,
    1. ARIZONA 2. OREGON ST + 1,
    3. GEORGIA 4. TENNESSEE U + 1,
    5. MIAMI OH 6. ARMY + 1,
    7. MISSOURI 8. KANSAS ST + 3,
    9. NAVY 10. SOU MISS + 3,
    11.ARIZ STATE 12. UTAH + 3,

^^^^that's what the data looks like
    all the rows that start with 1. 3. 5. 7.etc,... are the ones that need to
    go into 5 columns:

1. // ARIZONA // 2. // OREGON ST // +1

the other rows "TIES LOS...." etc need to center span across the whole table.

What do you think about something like this
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    // the data without carriage return (*) (a simple preg_replace with PHP)  
    var data="FANTASY FOOTBALL LEAGUE ,TIES LOSE TIES LOSE TIES LOSE ,,COL SAT OCT 8 2011 ,,1. ARIZONA 2. OREGON ST + 1,3. GEORGIA 4. TENNESSEE U + 1,5. MIAMI OH 6. ARMY + 1,7. MISSOURI 8. KANSAS ST + 3,9. NAVY 10. SOU MISS + 3,11. ARIZ STATE 12. UTAH + 3";

// Progressive replacements by using the regular expressions