www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Building a website like twitter

Building a website like twitter

Hi, I am a complete beginner to web development and I want to learn enough to build a website like twitter. Well not so flashy as twitter but just a few of it's features. I need people to be able to create accounts and log in. Then my website should show them just a single page with a simple, twitter like timeline which updates in real time and prints the users tweets. I do NOT want to use tools available online to build this website.. I want to learn the basics from the start and work my way up to building a site like twitter. I will also need some database to store data extracted from the site. I am a complete beginner and I don't even know HTML. Please suggest all the tools I require to master in order to build such a website.

well i dont know if i'm anywhere near skilled enough to attempt this, but u will need to learn:

probibly AJAX
    defiantly SQL
    defiantly PHP
    defiantly Javascript, HTML and CSS

I hope this isn't an urgent project.

I recommend http://www.w3schools.com
    as a good site to start learning all these languages.

Not an urgent project at all.. Just learning.. Thanks for the advice.. I have heard a lot about jQuery on the internet.. Is that required too?

Yes, jquery is used with ajax,

I dont know much about jquery and ajax except that i need to learn them and implement them into my site.

They are used to make pages more dynamic, allowing you to update information without refreshing or updating the whole page.

I really want to implement this into my site somehow too