www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [RESOLVED] Disallow <a> from 'breaking' when text-wrapped in browser window

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    48

    resolved [RESOLVED] Disallow <a> from 'breaking' when text-wrapped in browser window

    Hello,

    This will make sense if you just take a look. Two problems:

    1. The <a>'s get split apart when text-wrapped to a new line. I want them intact, like legitimate buttons.

    2. When they text-wrap, they overlap vertically. Maybe just some margin-top?

    Please give me the fix.

    Take a look here, shrink the browser window to see what I mean:
    http://getdtsi.com/dtsi_wop/makeedits.php

    Don't bother clicking the links, you will be kicked out of the program. I just have this page accessible without the password. Here is the CSS I've got for the links:

    Code:
    .topnav a:link, a:visited {
    color: black;
    text-decoration: none;
    font-weight: bold;
    font-family: Sans-serif;
    border: 2px solid #555555;
    background: #BBBBBB;
    padding: 3px;
    }
    
    .topnav a:hover, a:active {
    color: grey;
    text-decoration: none;
    font-weight: bold;
    font-family: Sans-serif;
    border: 2px solid #555555;
    background: #EEEEEE;
    padding: 3px;
    }
    Thanks again

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    48
    I tried wrapping all of the <a>'s in <div>'s to see if it would keep 'em intact. No go.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    chertsey, a small town s.w. of london, england.
    Posts
    1,467
    Hi there captainscall,

    Have you tried, "min-width"?....

    Code:
    .topnav { 
        min-width:1050px;
     }
    
    coothead
    Last edited by coothead; 07-20-2012 at 12:41 PM. Reason: typing error!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    48
    min-width is a step in the right direction and is appreciated, but I would still rather allow the links to wrap up with the shrinking window, just keep them intact

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1,641
    A way to stop text from wrapping at a certain point is to use &nbsp; (a non-breaking space) instead of a space.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    48
    Good call jedaisoul. That fixes problem #1.

    Now for the vertical overlap...?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    chertsey, a small town s.w. of london, england.
    Posts
    1,467
    Hi there captainscall,

    I have tidied up your code, it should now work as you desire...
    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <html lang="en">
    <head>
    
    <meta charset="utf-8">
    
    <title>DTSIwop - Editing Work Order</title>
    
    <style>
    body {
        font-family:arial,helvetica,sans-serif;
     }
    .topnav {
        margin:0 0 10px;
        padding:0;
        list-style-type:none;
     }
    .topnav li {
        display:inline-block;
        padding-right:3px;
        margin-bottom:4px;
     }
    .topnav a{
        display:inline-block;
        margin-right:3px;
     }
    .topnav a:link, .topnav a:visited {
        color: black;
        text-decoration: none;
        font-weight: bold;
        font-family: Sans-serif;
        border: 2px solid #555;
        background: #bbb;
        padding: 3px;
        height: auto;
     }
    .topnav a:hover, .topnav a:active {
        color: grey;
        text-decoration: none;
        font-weight: bold;
        font-family: Sans-serif;
        border:2px solid #555;
        background: #eee;
        padding: 3px;
        height: auto;
     }
    body.edit a#edit, body.edit a:visited#edit {
        border:4px solid red; 
     }
    </style>
    
    </head>
    <body class="edit">
    
    <ul class="topnav">
     <li><a id="create" href="create.php">Create Work Order</a>-</li> 
     <li><a id="edit" href="edit.php">Edit/View Work Order</a>-</li>  
     <li><a id="view" href="view.php">Print Work Order</a>-</li> 
     <li><a id="editcust" href="editcust.php">Manage Customers</a>-</li> 
     <li><a id="delete" href="deleteentry.php">Delete an entry</a>-</li> 
     <li><a href="/dtsi_wop">Main Menu Page</a>-</li> 
     <li><a href="index.php?logout=go">Log out</a></li> 
    </ul>
    
    <hr>No work order selected...
    
    </body>
    </html>
    
    coothead

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    48
    coothead -- excellence. That's the fix. <li>'s are more 'workable' than simply <a>'s.

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    chertsey, a small town s.w. of london, england.
    Posts
    1,467
    No problem, you're very welcome.
    coothead

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles