www.webdeveloper.com
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Please help me out

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    13

    Please help me out

    hey all. i want to install php on my pc. i have a hosted server, i do not know how to use this thing but i want it for means to practise and get better. i downloaded mysql but i dunno what to do with it. where does it connect too? can you please tell me which PHP version to download? do i skip the binary download? after the download how do i connect both php and mysql to my server? the official sites doesn't walk you through the connection part, if its too much trouble to explain, can you please just point me to a good site that explains how to connect these applications to a server.

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    280
    I recommend XAMPP. Is is a package of Apache, MySQL, FileZilla and Murcurey.
    http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp.html

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1,115
    If you are on an MS Windows platform, I'd suggest WAMP server. Like XAMPP it's everything you need rolled up into one. You just download it, click to install it and it does the rest. Dead easy.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    280
    Yeah, WAMP is good too, if you are using it mainly for learning, and you are on a windows machine, I would go with WAMP, it has easier to read debug dumps.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    13
    hey thanks guys. when i click on localhost or phpMYAdmin it returns nothing. how can i set them to my server

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1,115
    What package are you using, and have you installed it on the same machine you use as a workstation, or on a separate server? If you have installed it on a separate server it will NOT be localhost.

    Oh, and what OS are you running?
    Last edited by jedaisoul; 07-24-2012 at 12:38 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by jedaisoul View Post
    What package are you using, and have you installed it on the same machine you use as a workstation, or on a separate server? If you have installed it on a separate server it will NOT be localhost.

    Oh, and what OS are you running?
    windows vista. i installed it via wamp on my laptop. im using a hosted server(not my laptop). i want to know how to connect it to the server.. i was prompted at the start to type in my email server etc.. but i didnt think and continued on to just finish the installation. now i cant see any options to correct this

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1,115
    Right, first, it's easiest to forget the server, and just run WAMP as a localhost on the laptop. That's the way it is designed to be used. There should be a WAMP icon on the desktop. If so:

    1. Use Explorer to copy your site to the www folder inside the wamp directory. I.e. C:\wamp\wwww\ acts like public_html/

    2. Click on the wamp icon on the desktop to launch it, and wait till the wamp icon in the task bar turns green.

    3. Set up an icon target "http://localhost/index.php" and you should be working.

    To set up wamp on a separate server is slightly more complicated, so try the above first...
    Last edited by jedaisoul; 07-24-2012 at 01:11 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    13
    i hope not too complicated. what you said worked, i got it working on my laptop. scared of intrusions though

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1,115
    As far as I'm aware (though I'm no expert) there is little risk of intrusion because it is blocked by your firewall. YOU DO HAVE A FIREWALL??? If not, download and install MS Security Essentials. It's free and works. It may not be as good as a paid-for security package, but is a lot better than nothing!!!

    Anyway, to set up wamp on a server:

    1. Install wamp just as you did in the workstation. Then:
    _a) Open access to wamp for other PCs on your network. I forget how to do that but it must be pretty obvious if I worked out how to do it.

    _b) Check the network address of the server. You can do that on your nethub, or on the server itself.

    _c) Amend the shortcut that launches your site to point to the server.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    13
    thank you jedaisoul. I'll try this tomorrow. I'm sure i'll get it right, i just want to thank you in advance

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
HTML5 Development Center



Recent Articles