www.webdeveloper.com

Thread: Forms

Forms

I am new to the world of web development so my knowledge and skills are minimal.

However, on my website I would like to create a form. This form is kind of like the forms you see on airline websites or pizza hut. Where you have options and varieties and base on what you choose, it will bring up a results.

How would I even go about doing that?

Thanks for all your help.

Let's presume the user has to select 3 different things (style, size, and color).

Your webpage has 3 <select> on it.
    The first <select> has all of the different styles a user can choose from.
    When the user selects a style, the second <select> populates with a list of sizes that are available.
    When the user selects a size, the third <select> populates with a list of colors that are available.

How do you make that happen?
    1- in the first <select> add an "onchange" attribute, like this:
    Code:
    <select id="style" onchange="setSizes(this.value)">
    2- write the javascript function for "setSizes". It may resemble this:
    Code:
    function setSizes (style) {
      var sizes = document.getElementById("sizes");

//depending on which style they chose, populate "sizes" with the available sizes
      switch (style){
            case 'SomeStyle':{
                sizes.options.length = 0;
                sizes.options[dropdown.options.length] = new Option('Select One','');
                sizes.options[dropdown.options.length] = new Option('S','Small');
                break;
            }
            case 'SomeStyle':{
                sizes.options[dropdown.options.length] = new Option('Small','S');
                sizes.options[dropdown.options.length] = new Option('Medium','M');
                break;
            }
            case 'SomeOtherStyle':{
                sizes.options[dropdown.options.length] = new Option('Large','L');
                sizes.options[dropdown.options.length] = new Option('Extra Large','XL');