www.webdeveloper.com
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Calling data from the database

Calling data from the database

Hello, I am new to PHP and have been working on a site which I would like to set up some user profiles. I have currently been toying around with the profile page and in order to get better equipped I have been trying to call different information to the tables on the profile page.

I have not had much success. The only success I have is calling the username to the page with this,

if ($_SESSION['username'])
    {
    echo "You are logged in as ".$_SESSION['username'];

I have been trying to call the users email to the page with similar tags and tags I have found on the internet with no luck.

Does anyone have a general rule of commands or some advice on how I can accomplish tasks as simple as calling information from the DB?

I am at some point trying to set up a gallery for users to upload pictures to there profile and I really need some guidance on how to get there.

Thanks!

Well...the information will only be in $_SESSION if your code put it there. So if you want to access it that way, you'll probably need to modify your login processing to add that data element to the $_SESSION array. Otherwise, you'll need to explicitly query the database for that info in any situation where you need it.
    "Please give us a simple answer, so that we don't have to think, because if we think, we might find answers that don't fit the way we want the world to be."
    ~ Terry Pratchett in Nation

eBookworm.us

Ok this is what I have,

<?php
    $db="login";
    $link = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "");
    if (! $link)
    die("Couldn't connect to MySQL");
    mysql_select_db($db , $link)
    or die("Couldn't open $db: ".mysql_error());
    $result = mysql_query( "SELECT * FROM users" )
    or die("SELECT Error: ".mysql_error());
    $num_rows = mysql_num_rows($result);

$i=0;

while ($i<$num_rows )

{
    $first=mysql_result($result, $i,"first");